B-Complex Vitamin for Hair Growth

The Importance of B-Complex Vitamins in Hair Growth

The Importance of B-Complex for Hair Growth

B-Complex, $7.99 (Drugstore.com)

 Biotin (B7) has gained popularity because of the role it plays in maintaining healthy hair, but biotin is not the only nutrient that supports hair growth. All of the B vitamins are important for healthy hair, along with a host of other nutrients that support the metabolic requirements of follicle cells.

Nutrition is a vital part of all hair care regimens and plays a significant role in hair growth. Hair cells derive nutrients from the blood and the growth process of hair begins below the scalp in the dermal layer of the skin. Malnutrition, illness, stress, medications, smoking, heavy metals, alcoholism, etc. all affect the hair. The speed of hair growth varies based upon genetics, gender, age and hormones. Hormonal fluctuations and nutritional deficiencies can impact the rate of hair growth. Overall, vitamins and minerals are a necessary part of a hair care regimen if hair growth is a goal.

The B-Complex vitamins are essential micronutrients that ensure optimal health and well being. They are water-soluble and have minimal risk of toxicity. Among the various roles they play in overall health, they benefit healthy hair growth because they are required for the growth and development of the superficial layers of the skin and its appendages.

 Biotin (B7) has gained popularity because of the role it plays in maintaining healthy hair, but biotin is not the only nutrient that supports hair growth. All of the B vitamins are important for healthy hair, along with a host of other nutrients that support the metabolic requirements of follicle cells.

Biotin is most effective when it is taken with zinc. Zinc prevents hair shedding. The other B-complex vitamins that are vital are as follows:

  • B1 (Thiamin), B2 (Riboflavin), and B3 (Niacin) contribute to the proper nourishment of hair follicle cells.

  • B5 (Pantothenic Acid) gives the hair flexibility, shine and helps to prevent hair loss.

  • B6 (Pyridoxine) helps to prevent dandruff.

  • B12 (Cobalamin) also helps in the prevention of hair loss.

A balanced diet with an abundance of vitamins and minerals is necessary for healthy hair and scalp.  Proteins, antioxidants, trace elements, amino acids and a host of minerals all work together to maintain hair growth, not just one vitamin.  Instead of taking one type of vitamin or mineral, eat any balanced diet and take a daily multivitamin.

 

16 thoughts on “The Importance of B-Complex Vitamins in Hair Growth

  1. TWA4now

    Wow! I didn’t know Biotin is best used with Zinc! It breaks my skin out so I shopped using it but in the passed I would take B-complex. Thank you!

    Reply
  2. Tina

    I’ve heard that multi vitamin tablets don’t dissolve and accumulate in our digestive tracks. Is that true? And would taking a capsule be a better option, if they offer capsules?

    Reply
    1. Tamara Post author

      Hi Tina, I’ve heard the same thing but I haven’t really researched it to say ‘yay or nay’ for certain. The best thing to do is try to eat a well-balanced diet and drink water in addition to taking a multivitamin.

      Reply
    1. Tamara Post author

      Hi Dee,

      That’s a question I would refer to a medical professional. Its always best to consult your doctor before taking any addition vitamins or minerals.

      Reply
  3. Shana

    HI Tamara,

    I work on a cruise ship and made the mistake of texturizing my hair a year ago to get the “professional look”. Now my hair is shedding like crazy because the water hair is loaded with chlorine and i’m basically starting my natural hair process over again. Right now I have it up in braids. Can you suggest anything which would help combat the chlorine? I love washing my hair but the water hair damages it more than helping.

    Reply
    1. Tamara Post author

      Shana, Invest in a good clarifying shampoo like Sheamoisture’s Black Soap Deep Cleansing Shampoo & the balancing conditioner (links below) to wash out the chlorine and a good moisturizing Deep conditioner I like African’s Best Hair Mayonnaise. The deep conditioner will help restore moisture that the chlorine and shampoo strip away.

      SheaMoisture African Black Soap Balancing Conditioner, 13 Ounces


      Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise

      SheaMoisture African Black Soap Deep Cleansing Shampoo, 13 Ounces

      Reply
    1. Tamara Post author

      Hi Rebecca, I can speak specifically about hairfinity because I have no experience with it. But I can tell you that it best to just take a multivitamin formulated for women.

      Reply
  4. Joshalyn Hammons

    Does B-Complex contain Biotin? I’ve been using biotin for about 3 months due to shedding, but should I also use zinc and vitamin c?

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Renewal of hair after an increase | www.suckabrown.com

  6. Arline vanhorn

    I take a super b complex vitamin, bioton, and something called Nu hair, also a multi vitamin…should I also take zinc??? Worried I’m taking too much, hair us shedding bad…

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Natural Vitamins And Minerals For Hair Growth | Hair Growth Diet

  8. Susan Lopez

    Please help. My hair has always been my pride and joy. I figured since it is pretty damn healthy, it could deal with some bleach damage. And I figured the master stylist who did all the color-corrections would know how much would be too much. I was wrong, and now I want to burst into tears every time I look at my hair or touch it. I just don’t know what to do. my hair has also NEVER been shorter than this and it breaks and falls out. What should i do to regrow hair?

    Reply

Leave a comment