3 Items You Should Have In Your Natural Hair Emergency Kit

Natural Hair Emergency Kit

3 Items You Should Have In Your Natural Hair Emergency Kit3 Items You Should Have In Your Natural Hair Emergency KitYesterday morning, I needed a first aid or emergency kit. Badly. Instead of parking in my driveway, I parked in the parking pods on my street. So when I and my two daughters (ages 1 and 2), start walking to the car, the two-year old started to get upset because the car wasn’t in the driveway. (She gets upset whenever our routine changes.)
She cried, “Mommy, where are we going? Where are we going?” She then stomped her feet and somehow tripped over her own two feet and fell flat on her face. When we got to the car, I scrambled to find items to clean her up. This is when it hits me.  I REALLY need a first aid kit. NOW.
While I’m at the store, I need to purchase a hair first aid kid. Because with two kids, there are days when my hair could really use some first aid; extra, extra tlc. Like today, where I have no choice but to wear a dry, tangled, shrunken, three-dimensional afro to work. [Insert huge sigh.] And no I’m not ashamed of my hair texture, I’m ashamed that my hair looks parched. And it’s so big that you can’t miss the fact that it’s so dry…
So as I sit here during my lunch break, it really has me thinking about what I would include in my emergency kit for our hair. A kit that is small enough to fit in a small clutch, but effective enough to address any major hair emergency.
Elastic Headbands
These headbands can quickly transform the biggest hair disaster into a cute puff.  Failed twistout? Headband. Old twistout? Headband Old wash-n-go? You get the point. Make sure that you don’t just just ANY headband. The headband should not have any metal and be wary of exposed glue that can snag your hair.  You can’t leave home without at least one Goody Ouchless Elastic Headband you can purchase them here for $5.39
Hair and Bobby Pins
 

Sometimes a pin here and a pin there, can give you the last minute tweak you need.  Be mindful of the hair pins you choose though. If you buy cheap ones, the heads can come off and snag your hair.  I, personally, like to purchase the professional ones from Sally’s Beauty Supply Store. Yes, they cost $3 vs. $1, but it is worth the extra strands on my head.

Premium Bob PinsSample Size Moisturizer
 
Whether you run out the door without moisturizing your hair, or your hair needs a refresher, a small moisturizer is a great option. It is comparable to always having lotion and chapstick on hand. But many of us leave our hair moisturizer at home.  You can stick a sample size or put your favorite moisturizer into a travel size bottle.
What would you include in  a natural hair first aid kit?

8 thoughts on “Natural Hair Emergency Kit

  1. Twannah

    I started carrying an emergency hair kit because I always have a bad hair day. Because my commute is so long (3 hours each way on train) I never know what my hair will look like when I get to my destination. I also carry a small pick and small jar of gel. Yes, I am ready for any hair catastrophes…lol

    Reply
  2. Ashley

    I keep the Goody headbands, Bobby pins, small travel tub of coconut oil (for hair lips and skin) and when all else fails, have a beanie in my console.

    Reply
  3. Melody Mejeh-Johnson

    I’d include a mini spritzer bottle with water, a natural oil, and a bit of leave-in –shaken, not stirred. All of the items you mentioned in the post, as well as a travel sized gel (olive oil, natural gel)

    Reply

Leave a comment