What I’m Most Thankful For

img_3263I wrote this late last night after cooking and hosting my first Thanksgiving. I’m so proud of myself the rice dressing, mac & cheese, greens and broccoli salad I made where soooooo good.

I finally sat down after cooking, cleaning, and getting the kids off to bed to right you this note. I apologize about it’s lateness. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving.

I appreciate you reading this.  Happy Belated Thanksgiving!!!

After moving cross country, seeking answers for my son’s developmental delays, probably never fully processing 2 unplanned c-sections, and losing my grandfather and brother-in-law in March, I’ve had a rough year.

[Tweet “Grief can be VERY sobering via @naturalhairrule”]
I’m most thankful for my family. I’ve had a pretty challenging year but I’m in what I like to call the calm.  After losing both my grandfather and brother-in-law, I really couldn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. I wasn’t even sure that there was an end of the tunnel. When you’re grieving the darkest becomes your life.

But I’m finally in a place where I can appreciate the grieving process. I found it to be very sobering. I see every aspect in my life with a clearheadness that’s so new, mildly euphoric. It took a lot of hard emotional work to get here. I couldn’t bury my hurt or bottle it up. It became all consuming.

I’m thankful for my family and close friends that I consider family.

I have friends that normalized the importance of self-care and therapy without those things I don’t think I would be here in this place that I call the calm. The quiet after the storm. I pray that you have or at least find this exact level of support.

I’m looking forward to 2017 even if Trump is president

Tell Me in the Comments Section Below: What are you most Thankful for?

One thought on “What I’m Most Thankful For

  1. Carlisha

    I am most thankful for my family and friends . I am also looking forward to the new year no matter what it may bring . I hope joy and happiness . I also wanted to let you know that I love your post . You are doing such a good job . I just wanted to say thank you so much and keep up with the good work .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

