3 Things You Need to Know to Create an Carefree Hair Routine for Your Daughter

3 Things You Need to Know to Create an Carefree Hair Routine for Your Daughter

Photo Credit: Shanillia26 on Instagram

Every natural hair care regimen should begin with the same three things: cleansing, conditioning and caring.  It’s no different for your daughter.

Whenever someone ask “what do you do to their [my two daughters’] hair?”

I respond, “keep it clean, keep it moisturized and leave it alone.”  It’s that simple. Also, see video below.

When developing your child’s hair care regimen ask yourself these questions:

  • Cleansing How are you going to keep her hair clean and how often are you going to clean it?
  • Conditioning What are you going to use to condition her hair and how are you going to do it?
  • Caring How are you going to care for her hair.  Are you going to cornrow it?  Leave it in pony tails?  Will you use rubber bands?  A wash-n-go?  All of these fall into the caring ingredient.

Once you have these things outlined, you can begin to implement them into a routine.  One thing to note, though, is that no hair care routine has ever been developed without a whole lot of trial and error.  Don’t be afraid to make mistakes with your daughter’s hair regimen.  Your daughter is unique and her hair regimen will be unique.  You may be able to use your same routine on her hair and you might not.  All of your daughters might be able to use the same products and they might not…don’t get discouraged, just keep trying until you get it right.

For us, our hair and our lifestyle, less is more.  I cleanse their hair by conditioner washing every 4-6 weeks.  When they were younger I cleansed every week.  I follow cleansing with a leave-in conditioner and proceed to caring with detangling and styling.  I believe the caring piece of their routine is the most important in contributing to length retention.  Specifically, how often I detangle.  Whether it was when they were little and once a week, or currently, every 4-6 weeks, I only detangle on wash day.

Overcoming Hair Care Challenges When Developing a Regimen for Your Daughter

My biggest challenge I’ve had with both my girls hair is the length.  Both my daughter’s hair, when stretched, is butt length.  Like they can literally sit on their hair.  I know that many moms want this length for their own daughter’s hair, but it IS challenging.  Obviously I don’t want to cut their hair, and they don’t want me to cut it at this point either, so I overcame this challenge by stretching the time between wash days.  Like I said, when hey were younger, we were washing, conditioning and styling every week, then it went to two weeks, and now we’re sitting at the maximum, 4-6 weeks.

There you have it!  I hope that you found the answers to these questions to be helpful!  As a mother, caring for your daughter’s natural hair can be a fun bonding experience!  I mean what other time can both of you teach, learn, experiment and play in hair all at the same time!

ABOUT NIK SCOTT

Nik Scott is a natural hair YouTuber and the author of 10 Easy Steps To Go Natural Without Cutting Your Hair Off!  Be on the look out for Nik’s children’s book My Hair Is So Happy coming in 2013.  For more information about Nik and her daughters’ natural hair, subscribe to Nik’s YouTube channel at http://www.YouTube.com/LongHairDontCareLLC

5 thoughts on “3 Things You Need to Know to Create an Carefree Hair Routine for Your Daughter

  1. Ferbia Hamilton

    Hello first off luv your blog it helps me out alot but I do have a question. I have a newborn who is two months at this time. She was born with full head of hair which i only washed once a week now at two months im starting to comb her hair is that a wise thing to do? Her hair is so thick and she has a habit of pulling when feeding. Can you give me a few tips for my baby so that i can start her off right to having healthy hair? Thank you so much and keep up the good work.

    Reply
  2. Ferbia Hamilton

    Sorry forgot to tell you what i use on her hair. I use the shea moisture shampoo shea leave in conditioner and shea butter. I live in las vegas so its really dry and hot here so i do my best to keep her hair moist.

    Reply
  3. Ferbia Hamilton

    I detangle about twice a week i try not to bother her hair too much. Also besides shea moisture is there any other product that helps with retaining moisture? I use coco and water as well.

    Reply
  4. Wongezwa

    Hi Tamara

    Please can you advise me, What product I could use for this three step hair care routine, I have a problem, I’m not very good at taking care of my natural hair, I’m on this journey but I think IL get quiet a lot of things wrong…like…I don’t wear a scarf on my head when I sleep at night… Please help me I need a step by step instruction, from washing to moisturizing…the works.

    Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

