I Stop Combing My Hair For 3 Months…

10 Steps To Growing Long Natural HairMy wash day routine would start like every woman with natural hair. I would detangle with both my fingers and a wide tooth comb to make sure I removed any stubborn knots or shed hair.

Initially, I would start off finger detangling and follow up with a wide tooth comb to remove extra shed hair.

But recently, I put down the wide tooth comb and all other detangling tools for that matter. For a little over 3 months, I have not combed my 4C natural hair and I’ve noticed a few things…

Are you a 4C girl, here are 10 tips you needed.

My Hair is More Full

There has been a tremendous difference in the fullness of my hair. I have always had full hair, but never this full. Getting rid of the strain that styling tools can put on my tightly coiled hair has made a tremendous difference.

Dramatic Reduction Of Breakage

When detangling kinky, coily hair your hair prone to breakage from manipulation regardless of how gentle you’re detangling. You’ll know that it’s breakage rather than just the hair you’ve shed.  It’s tiny wisps of hair (broken off pieces of your hair strand) instead of a full-length strand. I still have had a couple of wisps here and there when I finger detangle but for the most part, the majority of what I end up seeing is just hair that has fallen from my scalp as a part of the normal shedding process.

3 Tips for Easy Detangling

Full Control Over The Detangling Process

When you rely on on combs or brushes to detangle your hair for you, you end up tugging the knots you come across rather than gently undoing them. When you have mastered finger detangling you have full control over what happens to your hair and overall less damage.

We all know if you haven’t grasped how to successfully finger comb your hair, the results can be disastrous. You could end up damaging your hair which is the opposite of what you are trying to achieve.

Here are a few tips for better detangling with your fingers or a comb:

Combing Damp Hair

Damp hair (not soaking wet nor dry) is the best state to detangle whether you are finger detangling or combing with a wide tooth comb.

Using Whipped Shea Butter To Stretch My Hair As I Detangle

Using whipped Shea Butter mixed with my special blend of oils (which usually include castor oil, coconut oil and flaxseed oil) I smooth this onto my hair and it gives me stretch like you wouldn’t believe! The mix is heavy but the benefits are two-fold: the stretch I get dramatically reduces tangles and it enables me to glide through the detangling process.

Here’s an Easy Recipe for Whipped Shea Butter

Keeping My Hair In A Stretched State Throughout The Week

I keep my hair stretched by braiding and two strand twisting. Stretched hair will cut down on tangles big time.

Doing A Light Finger Detangle Throughout The Week

Rather than waiting a whole week before I finger detangle, sometimes I will do a light detangle before wash day. Remember we shed anywhere from 50 to 100 hairs per day and if you wait a full week’s time that can mean a lot of time spent removing shed hair. You can find out more about

You can find out more about knowing the difference about breakage and shedding.
Have you been able to get finger combing to work for you? What are your tips?

One thought on “I Stop Combing My Hair For 3 Months…

  1. Pingback: I Stop Combing My Hair For 3 Months… - find-a-black-salon.com

Leave a Reply

