3 Winter Hair Care Essentials for Natural Hair

Winter-Hair-Care-Essentials

If you’re like me, come wintertime, your hair may need a little extra TLC. Here are some winter hair care essentials that I make sure to have on hand to keep my hair in tip-top shape.

A Great Deep Conditioner

As a natural hair blogger, I own quite a few deep conditioners and hair masks that I like. But, honestly, there are only about three that I absolutely love and know work wonders for giving my hair amazing moisture during the time of year that I need it the most. I make sure I am well-stocked come December so I’m not skimping on hair care. Keep your eyes open for sales and specials that will be going on during this time of the year and use these to stock up on your faves and keep dry hair at bay.  Here are the 5 Best Moisturizing Deep Conditioners

See: 4 Deep Conditioners to Help You Beat Dry Winter Hair 

My Hair Steamer

With the dry air winter robbing our hair of moisture, we need all the help we can get. In addition to keeping deep conditioners on hand, I like to ensure that I’m keeping my hair well-moisturized by using a steamer. Though I own both a hooded steamer and a handheld steamer, I tend to opt for the handheld steamer simply because I can detangle at the same time. Either way, my steamer gives me just the right amount of moisture I need-whether I’m just refreshing to re-twist my hair or deep conditioning- without completely re-wetting it. The heat from the steam helps open up the hair cuticle and allows the moisture to penetrate deep into my strands. This helps make my deep conditioning that much more effective as well! If you have the budget for it, I highly recommend investing in a steamer. If not, you could create a similar environment for your hair by wrapping it with a plastic cap and then a heated, damp towel.

Read: 5 Reasons the Q-Redew is Life-Changing

Super Duper Oils!

I generally keep a few oils around throughout the year but I specifically like to have Jamaican black castor oil (JBCO) and coconut oil during the winter. I prefer to use JBCO when moisturizing because of its thick consistency which helps to seal in moisture better, at least for my kinky, naturally course hair. Coconut oil is great for pre-pooing and infuses the hair with protein which is essential for overall health. I also use these oils and others as deep conditioner boosters. For those conditioners that could use a little extra something, just mix a few tablespoons of your oil of choice with the conditioner or hair mask and apply as normal. And don’t forget those ends!

Having these three winter hair care essentials is a good idea at any point during the cooler months but they are especially great prep if you plan to install a protective style to give your hair a break for the season.

What tools or products do you find you can’t live without during the winter?

One thought on “3 Winter Hair Care Essentials for Natural Hair

Leave a Reply

