Does SheaMoisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Shampoo REALLY Work???

Does Jamaican Black Castor Oil Really Work?When I saw SheaMoisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow and Restore Shampoo, I knew I wanted to try it. I’ve been using SheaMoisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow and Restore Shampoo and SheaMoisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow and Restore Leave-In Conditioner, faithfully for about 3 months. I first wrote about it here.

If you’re a product junkie like me, you HAVE to try every product. SheaMoisture is a personal favorite of mine. They have the best sulfate-free, moisturizing shampoos with Eden BodyWorks leading in second with their NEW EdenBody Works Coconut Shea Moisture Shampoo.

The benefits of Jamaican Black Castor Oil (JBCO) make it worth the try alone. You can read about the benefits and how it regrows hair here.

In addition to JBCO ingredients include apple cider vinegar which is a natural clarifier for your hair and scalp.  I have dry scalp and use apple cider vinegar as a natural remedy for dry scalp and as a clarifying treatment.  Again I was sold!!!

Now that you know why I brought it. Let’s get to it!

Does It Work???

Before I answer this question, it’s important to understand how and why a product works. Reading the ingredients and product label is the first step. Here are the product label claims:

Its clarifying, sulfate-free formula nourishes, strengthens and removes product build-up to reduce hair breakage, shedding and to promote hair growth. Infused with apple cider vinegar and shea butter to aid in regulating and balancing pH levels on the scalp for soft, shiny hair. Gentle enough for every day use.

The product does remove build-up. This is a big part of what apple cider vinegar does along with balancing the pH level of the hair and scalp which leave your hair soft, shiny and almost frizz-free.

I don’t shampoo my hair daily. The most I will shampoo is 2-3 times a week depending on my workout schedule (I go to the Crossfit gym 2-3 times a week.) My hair was still soft and moisturized. Easy to detangle and manage even after 2-3 shampoos in a row. I’ll say the product claim is true!

Does it promote hair growth??? I’m always skeptical when products claim to grow hair. How do you make the hair or body do something that it’s already doing naturally? Unless you suffer from alopecia, your hair is always growing. I can’t say that I saw a noticeable amount of hair growth. I’m also not looking for it either. You know, I stop doing length checks a while ago. But, please, if you have seen hair growth as a result of this product share in the comments section below this post.

I can’t speak on hair growth, but I can speak on shedding!!!

I had my second baby about 6 months ago and I had already prepared myself for postpartum shedding.  There are all kinds of remedies. I don’t do any of them! I know, I know…

The only thing that I do is make sure to take a daily prenatal vitamin. I started using SheaMoisture JBCO Shampoo about 3 months after my little Pooh Bear was born. (You can read his birth story here.) In the beginning, I noticed that my hair line was thinning from the postpartum shedding. But immediately after using the shampoo I saw a difference. Less hair in the drain and more hair in my headline. I can say, yes, it does reduce breakage as well as overall shedding.

Read Ways to Reduce Postpartum Shedding

More About SheaMoisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow and Restore Shampoo provides moisture to natural, chemically processed, color treated and heat styled hair. Its clarifying, sulfate-free formula nourishes, strengthens and removes product build-up to reduce hair breakage, shedding and to promote hair growth. Infused with apple cider vinegar and shea butter to aid in regulating and balancing pH levels on the scalp for soft, shiny hair. Gentle enough for every day use.

Love it or Hate? Have you used this product?

Tell me about your experience in the Comments Section Below

20 thoughts on “Does SheaMoisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Shampoo REALLY Work???

  1. Denise

    Where can i get SheaMoister Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow and Restore Shampoo to buy? I live in Bronx NY

    Reply
    1. Taylor Nayeli

      I see Shea Moisture’s products at one of my fave hair stores House of Beauty World. You can get it a bit cheaper than the actual prices elsewhere. They even tell you the before price and the one you pay. LOve this store!

      Reply
  2. Dana R. Shell

    I use the JBCO line, it makes my hair soft; strengthens my strands and removes product build up. I can say a lot more about this product, it’s truly amazing!

    Reply
  3. Stacy C

    I have used this twice and love the way it makes my hair feel. Not sure about growth but also believe it reduces shedding. I have very thin edges and am hoping to thicken that area with this product line. I’ll keep you posted.

    Reply
  4. Martina Campbell

    I have been using only the Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil leave in conditioner for the last month and a half. I trimmed my hair prior to using the product. I have seen a noticeable change in my growth. People have made comments it looks longer. My hair is softer as well. I’ll definitely have to try the shampoo now to get the full benefit.

    Reply
  5. Vonda

    My sis said it left her hair brittle and shedding as well. I haven’t tried it yet, I got it in a curlkit but what my sis said kind of scared me away from it. I’ll try it eventually tho.

    Reply
  6. Lisah Thiel

    I’ve been using JCBO shampoo for 3 month now and it does exactly what it claims. Leaves my hair soft. I noticed less shedding and my new growth is coming in fast. Makes my transitioning less brutal. And the leave in is a must have!

    Reply
  7. Elisha

    I’very been using the JBCO shampoo for about two months and it has definitely become one of my must have products! This along with the edge treatment has done wonders for my edges and overall growth.

    Reply
  8. Tamera

    Left my scalp in shambles. Nice for removing build up but aftet every wash my scalp became so dry and itchy #nightmare

    Reply
  9. Angie Taylor

    These products are working for me, I have been using them just over a month and surprisingly, my hair has grown about an inch so far. One of my co-workers even commented! I bought mine on Amazon. Sally has them and you can also go to the Shea Moisture website!

    Reply
  10. Mary Ware

    Haven’t tried this shampoo becasue for me GKhair moisturizing shampoo really works. I use it on my dry, brittle and dull hair and it produces an optimal results. My hair were very much dull 3 years ago but once I started using this shampoo my hair started shining and glowing. Now I can tangibly feel the difference both in my old and the new hair. Simply terrific stuff I can say that. 🙂

    Reply
  11. Akita

    I was skeptical on Shea Moisture Products I general because there were so many to choose from & (there are not cheap honey!) I just started going natural & I wasn’t sure what to us. So I happened to read on it, watch you tube videos, read on it again, look at it 4 30 minutes in the stores, buying sample packs, go home watch you tube again! I started with the G & R Deep Conditioner Sample pack & i loved it! Then I bought the G & R Styling Cream…loved it!! So now I have G & R Shampoo, Conditioner, Deep Treatment Masque, & Styling lotion. I said all that to say…..It makes my 4C hair very soft, & curly. I’m sold!

    Reply
  12. Nandy

    I have been using JBCS for a little over a year now and I can say Wow what a improvement it has made to my hair! Growth, Thickness, Stregenth and Shine! Amazing product! I’m no longer a naturalist but have continued to use her products! Even my Dominican beautician asked where can she finds the product because she notice the growth and change! Shea Mositure I Love YOU! GOD BLESS

    Reply
  13. Pingback: Jamaican Black Castor Oil Hair Growth Pictures Before And After | Hair Loss Treatment Diet

  14. Talema Harris

    I did the big chop Oct 2015 and my first products I used was JBCO line from Shea Moisture and I seen growth in my hair. Then, I became a product junkie now I am back to my staple hair brand Shea Moisture JBCO it’s the best.

    Reply
  15. Brittany

    Happy to say that this product does work. I have been using it for about a year now. I knew Shea Moisture was a trusted brand so when I saw this I immediately got happy. I remember the first time I tried using it was after I got my hair cut and desperately wanted it to grow. It has never grown fast on its own, ever. Now since I started using this product it grows at about 3-5 times the normal rate it did before. Plus it leaves your hair looking healthy, and you being happy. Def recommend!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

