College Curlies Guide to Natural Hair

College Curlies Guide Natural Hair

Dwayne Hills via Create Her Stock

College years are probably one of the most busiest times of your life. As a recent college graduate, I know what it feels like to have 24 hours in day and feel like there isn’t enough time for anything at all. Between lectures, internships, extracurricular activities, work, maintaining a social life, and pulling an all-nighter to finish that assignment that was due days ago,  there seems to be so little time to dedicate to maintaining your hair.

  1. Be Frugal: Natural hair products can be pretty expensive. If you’re a student, you either don’t have   full-time job, or have both a full-time job to pay your way through school as well as attending school full-time. Either way, no one has full-time money to spend on products all the time. Look for BOGO sales so you can stock up on some of your favorite products. Also, try to look for some affordable brands that will get the job done. Some reasonably priced hair products that are my go-to for both washing and styling is Shea Moisture and Cantu Shea Butter, hands down. Their products get the job done, give my hair what it needs, have more than one use, and they don’t break the bank.
  2. Make a Schedule: October is right around the corner, so that means mid-terms /essays are also due for the fall semester. If you’re a procrastinator like I was in my senior year, you definitely don’t want to be the one wearing a hat to class for weeks upon weeks because you constantly had to choose your 12-page paper over washing your hair (yes, I’m guilty, but I made it work!). Really make sure to go through your syllabi, write down when your assignments are due, and see where you can fit in an hour or two for wash day. If possible, wash your hair on the weekend to set your hair for the rest of the week, which leads me to my next tip.
  3. Pick a Go-to Style: Picking a style that not only keeps your hair stretched (to eliminate tangles and save time on detangling) but can be worn multiple days at a time without having to manipulate it constantly will be a life saver. My go-to style was two flat twists with either a deep side part or middle part. I was able to wear that for days at a time, and when I got tired of it, I was able to take the twists down for a wavy/stretched fro, or a roll tuck and pin style. College Curlies Guide to Natural Hair
  4. Keep it Healthy: I get how much time you don’t have as a college student, so it’s not realistic to wash your hair every week and style it every single day. At the very least, make sure to wash your hair twice a month so you can fit in those deep treatments your curls desperately need. You also want to make sure you’re moisturizing your hair at least every couple of days to keep your curls fresh, hydrated, easy to manipulate when you don’t have time for wash day, and breakage-free.
  5. Keep it Cute: Time is everything while you’re in college. Just because you’re stressed and trying to beat the clock to get assignments done doesn’t mean your hair should suffer. With the right planning,  your hair can stay fly all while breezing through assignments. Wearing the same style everyday? Spice it up with a cute ribbon/bow or a stylish hat. Make it work for you and your personal style!

With these tips along with a simple natural hair care regimen, your curls are bound to survive the endless nights of studying, research, and papers.

How do you maintain your hair while in college? 

3 thoughts on “College Curlies Guide to Natural Hair

  1. Kathleen

    Advice please! I went to Supercuts for a deep conditioner. The girl said there was keratin in the conditioner. She put me under the dryer for 20 minutes. Since then my natural curl is gone. Six inches of my hair are bone straight! I have washed my hair multiple times to get my curl back. I have/had 4c hair. Is there anything I can do to get my natural
    Hair back? Five years of going natural the woman killed it in 20 minutes!!!

    Reply
    1. Briana

      I’m sorry kathleen. You will have to cut it all off . Some people have been tricked with that same “treatment” and it has a relaxer in it. They do it because it tames the curls that they would rather not deal with. I’d recommend that you do your own hair,stay away from that place, and trust no one.

      Reply
    2. Dejanae

      That happened to me before I went to the Dominicans NEVER AGAIN. She knew I was natural and the deep conditioner had some sort of light relaxer in it…that was my freshman year of high school, I’m currently a Sophomore in college and I never cut it off I let my hair grow out,, my hair is healthy its bra strap length!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

