How to Remove Crochet Braids Safely

After removing your crochet braids, surely you want to retain all of the beautiful hair that you have grown over the month so you want to make sure that is done the right way. But before we talk about the removal process, let’s me share some tips on properly installing crochet braids without damage. You can find these tips here.

Being that this style essentially requires that you tie knots to secure the hair onto your real hair, there is tons of room for error when it comes to removing this style, so you will want to proceed with caution. For those who are newbies to wearing crochet braids the removal process altogether may be new territory for you. Fortunately the take down process is actually quite simple, here is what you need to know:

remove crochet braids

  • Use an oily product or anything that will help to give your hair some slip to avoid damage.
  • You will be cutting the hair extensions until they are very close to the knots that are attached to your cornrows.
  • If you threaded your cornrows down in the back of your hair, you are definitely going to want to take your time when removing. You can use an extra mirror so you can see what is going on in the back of your hair before proceeding to remove the thread.
  • After you have cut the hair you will undo the knots by gently picking them out with a comb or your hands.
  • For some sections you may need to only remove the knots by simply taking your cornrows down.
  • Have patience! You may encounter some areas that are harder than others to remove.

Here is a good look at what the process looks like:

When we are ready to remove our protective styles, sometimes we are so itching (literally) to get this style out, that we the pay the price of causing damage to our real hair. I know you want relief, but you need to be gentle and patient during the removal process. Remove your crochet braids on a day where you have a plenty of time and there is no rush. In comparison to other protective styles crochet braids can be removed in as little as 30 minutes, at the most an hour. Which really isn’t that bad considering how time consuming other styles like box braids or kinky twists can be.

4 thoughts on “How to Remove Crochet Braids Safely

  1. Tangela

    Hi! how you doing (in my Wendy Williams voice 🙂 ). 1st of all I want to tell you I LOVE LOVE LOVE your blogs on how to take care of and manage my nature hair. I’ve been natural for 3 years now and reading you blogs has helped and I see SUCH A DIFFERENCE in my hair. THANK YOU! .

    Okay to my question, I just removed crochet braids OMG is all I’m going to say. My question is do I color my hair 1st before deep conditioning? Or vise/versa? Also what’s the best way to deep condition?

    This are my questions, again Thank you for blessing me with your website.

    Reply
    1. Sarah Samuel

      Hi Tangela
      Firstly, You’re to read the instructions on the colour packet, for their special recommendations. Then ideally you colour first as your hair should not be damp or wet or have too much product within it prior to colouring. Once you’ve completed the colouring process and have removed the excess water, then you can continue to deep condition your hair. Hope this helps Tangela, I’m just another subscriber to Natural Hair Rules!!!
      Sarah 🙂

      Reply
      1. Tangela

        Yes sarah! Thank you. … however, I have coloured my hair and the edges did not take. I’m so disappointed, this has never happened before. I left the dye in for 30/45 min. with a shower cap on. What went wrong?

  2. Julia Lane-Rhodes

    Good question edges always need taken care of after using the crochet version of saving the hair growth. So whats the answer?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

