The L.O.C. Method: Best Order for Your Hair Type & Products

PicsArt_1418678787500

As a natural hair stylist I have experience with multiple textures.  Hands down the L.O.C. method is one of the best ways to moisturize and retain moisture regardless of hair.  But it may not work the same on every hair type. Being so, it’s important to know how to make it work for your hair in order to maximize moisture and keep hair as healthy as possible.

If you’re confused about your hair type, don’t fret here are some resources to help you: Everything You Need To Know About Hair Typing.

The original LOC method requires the use of a Liquid ( water or water based leave in), Oil (natural, essential oil of choice), and a Cream (creamy moisturizer). I stumbled upon this method in search of a way to seal in moisture after a bout of breakage and extreme dryness. This method saved my hair!

So, it only made sense for me to implement this when working with my clients. But, after encountering different types and textures, I had to tweak this method to optimize the moisture levels. Here are 3 Ways To Troubleshoot or Adjust the L.O.C. for your hair.

#1 L.C.O | Liquid Cream Oil for 4a/4b Hair
It’s so important to set the stage for whatever choice of styling you like. I have found that this method works best for fine to medium 4a/4b types. So after the use of a moisturizing shampoo and conditioner, I always follow with a water based leave in conditioner such as

After misting hair with leave in or working it through, I follow with a cream moisturizer

At this stage, I seal with my favorite oil which is either

#2 L.O.C(S) | Liquid Oil Cream (Sealant) for 4b/4c Hair

During consultations, I have clients tend to mention having a hard time retaining moisture in medium to coarse 4b/4c hair types. I’ve learned that after a deep conditioning treatment rinsed with cool water, I will opt for a creamier leave in conditioner, which I mix with either argan oil or castor oil. After doing so, and working through thoroughly, I will use one of the moisturizers (listed above) and then end with a sealant. In this case, a sealant is described as a butter such as

This will seal in moisture and also set the perfect foundation for protective styling, providing long lasting moisture.

#3 L.O.C.O | Liquid Oil Cream Oil for Fine Hair
Though the methods listed above have proven very effective for me as a stylist, in my research, I’ve had clients refer to one other method used at home, in between visits. It’s the Liquid(leave in), Oil (light Oil – grapeseed, peppermint tea tree, etc), Cream moisturizer, and Oil (Heavy Oil – Castor Oil, Coconut, Olive, etc). Though similar to the #2 L.O.C.S. method, this, for fine/medium textures, won’t weigh the hair down.

So, a lot of times, it’s not necessarily what you are using, but the order in which the products are applied. Which method do you best prefer?

Photo Credit

15 thoughts on “The L.O.C. Method: Best Order for Your Hair Type & Products

  1. BB

    What can i do for my dry hair? I wear lace wigs behind my hairline during the week, and on the weekends i wear my real hair out in a bun. My hair is really dry. What can i do for moisture? and what regimen would be good for my dry hair?

    Reply
    1. Markeita Pruitt Post author

      Hi. There’s a blog posted on the site about what products to use based upon hair porosity. If you’re having a problem retaining moisture, it may be due to having high porosity hair. But that article is a great start.

      Reply
  2. Chae

    Ive been reading several articles about hte LOC method and how to get my hair to grow. Ive been relaxer free for about 8 months however I am letting it grow out rather than doing a “big chop”. my hair has been breaking off and in my opinion not growing because I was using heat daily, blow dryer and flat iron, currently Ive got box braids to give my hair a break but I am researching methods, products and routines to help grow and retain hair length when I take m braids down. I would say I have medium textured hair that is damaged and dry I will start with the LOC method and see if that causes my hair to feel to heavy then go to the LOCO method. I plan on getting my ends trimmed when the braids come down but I have a question about the method and products to use. Is Pink moisturizer advisable for the Cream step?

    Reply
    1. Markeita Pruitt Post author

      Hi,
      pink oil moisturizer isn’t the best moisturizer in my opinion. If you’re suffering from breakage, I’d suggest Camille Rose Curlaide Moisture Butter or Qhemet Biologic Olive and Amla Heavy Cream. If you suffer from a lot of breakage, it could be due to the stress and heat applied to the line of demarcation (where relaxer hair meets new growth ). To minimize breakage, either continue utilizing protective styles until hair is at a comfortable length or big chop to avoid further damage. Also avoid heat as much as possible and deep condition often.

      Reply
  3. Julie

    Hi, I as well stopped using chemicals on my hair for some time now, including heat and my hair did experience breakage and shedding but thanks to your articles and just watching other natural hair videos, I’m sure you know who some of them are, you guys have helped me save my hair. Thanks for all your hard work and sharing very informative hair articles. Congrats on the new member to your lovely family and please keep up the great work. Whoever reads, learn and follow will not be disappointed

    Reply
  4. margaret

    I was wondering about the article about the 5 things for hair ( aloe vera, shea, olive oil, coconut oil and vegetable glycerin, are we to mix all 5 together? in what quantities? thanks for reading.

    Reply
  5. Willa

    I was reading about the LOC method,can i aphogee balancing moisturizer(first ingredients is water) jojoba oi,african pride leave in conditioner?is these items ok to use?

    Reply
    1. Markeita Pruitt Post author

      Hi, the Aphogee product as well as the jojoba oil are fine to use. I’m unfamiliar with the African pride leave in. But, be sure your leave in assists in detangling.

      Reply
  6. Caitlin von

    I have type 3B hair. Is the L.O.C. method and its variants designed for me? Or is this more a type 4 thing? Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

