Hairstory- Joelle A.

Joelle decided to transition back to natural hair seven years ago by doing the big chop. Now she has long, beautiful waist length hair.

You can submit your Hairstory and Pictures here.

 

Hairstory Joelle W | Natural Hair Rules1) I have been natural for 7 years.

2) I returned natural because my hair was thinning with the perm. My roller wraps started to look lifeless. I had to make a choice to either do a big cut or go natural and I am happy that I decided to transition. I transitioned for 6 months and did the big chop.

If you are transitioning or thinking about going natural, check out these posts.

3) I only transitioned 6 months and did the big chop because I wanted to experience every stage of being natural. I also wanted to do something different and drastic with my hair for the first time in my life.  I wore perm rod sets, sew ins, and braids to help me transition. I remember using shea butter during my transition but I can’t remember anything else I used.

4) My regimen usually consists of me washing my hair once or twice a month. I co-wash my hair with Tresemme Naturals Conditioner. I use Giovanni Direct Leave-In as my leave in and I seal with coconut oil. If I shampoo my hair because of build up, I dilute my shampoo with water. I just completed a protective style challenge that consisted of me wearing styles that completely covered my hair for a year. The PS (protective style) challenge allowed me to retain more length than usual.

5) I have experienced both hard times and good on my natural journey. I refer to it as a “journey” because there are so many things to learn along the way, no matter how long you have been natural. I absolutely love my natural hair and can honestly say that I will never perm my hair again. When I did my big chop, people couldn’t believe that I had cut off all of my hair but now they love it. My husband has been one of my biggest supporters.

Hairstory Joelle W | Natural Hair Rules Protective Styling with Jumbo Twists6) Being natural is a lot easier for me now than it was 7 years ago. Seven years ago I rarely saw anyone with natural hair but now it is so refreshing to see so many natural ladies! I learned the most about myself when I did my big chop because I proved to myself that I did not care what others had to say about me.

Staying natural has shown me how mentally strong I am. When I had struggles in the past it would have been easy to slap a perm in my hair but I knew that I would regret it. I knew that it was all a learning process and that I needed to find what worked for my hair.

7) My best advice for anyone that is transitioning or natural would be to listen to your hair. Give your hair what it needs and it will thank you. Also, remember that what works for one person, may not work for you. Do not get discouraged if your hair does not look like someone else’s, love your hair for what it is. Learning to love your hair for what it is and taking proper care of it are they keys to staying natural.

3 thoughts on “Hairstory- Joelle A.

    1. Joelle

      Hi Gwendolyn, I am so sorry that I am so late getting back with you. Yes I do, I started using shea moistures JBCO deep treatment masque about 4 months ago and I’m in love!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

