4 Fall Natural Hair Trends You Should Try

fall_natural_hair_trends

It’s officially fall, ya’ll!  Boots, chunky sweaters, and fun natural hair are in full swing.  When the seasons change, I like to adjust my style and hair for the new season.  As a mom, I noticed that the last few seasons I’ve been pretty conservative in my dress. In fact, my husband and sister have been making fun of my affinity for A-line dresses. So this season, I’m paying more attention to trends to add some spunk to my classic style.

Natural Hair Weaves

Confession: I’ve never been a fan of weaves. But now that I think about it, I’ve never been a fan of bad weaves.  With the advent of kinkier hair textures, I love them!  They blend so well and are undetectable. Even when straightened, they blend with our texture since our straight hair doesn’t look “Brazilian Wavy”.  Although I’m still not comfortable wearing a weave, I plan on wearing braids or twists.  I’m looking forward to the extra length while protecting my  own strands.

Hats

I’ve always had a fear of hats. [I thought I couldn’t pull off the look.] On a whim, I picked up a hat at Forever 21 and I’m in love.  With some adjustments, all of my hair actually fits!  This fall, there are some great options to top off your look, including: fedoras, floppy hats, and pork pie hats.

Fall Hair Color

I’ve been debating coloring my hair for quite some time and I’m ready to take the plunge. Natural hair color has been on trend for some quite some time, but it’s now more popular than ever. Not only are women using temporary hair products, like hair chalking and eyeshadow they are venturing more into permanent color.  Now that we understand how to care for our natural hair, we are seeing more women be adventurous with hair color.  This fall, try a reddish-brown or blondish-brown hue, or if you really want to have fun — purple!

Natural Hair Jewelry

And when I say, “hair jewelry”, I specifically mean jewelry for the hair.  We’ve been rocking big earrings, headbands, and hair scarves for years. But recently, we are seeing more jewelry to adorn the hair.  You just have to be careful so that it doesn’t snag your hair strands.

What natural hair trends do you plan on trying this fall?

3 thoughts on “4 Fall Natural Hair Trends You Should Try

  1. mary

    Whether you are looking for a trim to keep your present style looking great or a completely new cut, the talented stylists at Salon Xia are here to help. We consult with you, using the latest technology to project your look and help you make a great decision. If you are looking for a hair dresser in Alhambra, try Salon Xia’s professional stylists to achieve the cut you want.

    Reply
  2. Linda Jenkins

    I very much enjoy reading the natural hair tips that you share here. I’ve been natural for about a year and a half now, and I recently started what I call pre-hydrating my hair (just before washing), with a combination of Organic Coconut Oil (any grocery store for $6-$9 a jar), and Moroccan Argan Oil ($22, Sally’s Beauty, for the large bottle). I know this might seem like over-kill, but I first oil my scalp with the Argan Oil and then follow with a good application of coconut oil from root to stem of my 4-to-6 inch locks, and fingertip massage into my hair and scalp. While in the shower, I save my treasured warm water hair washing for last. Before applying either Proclaim Shampoo and Conditioner (or) Moroccan Argan Oil Shampoo and Conditioner, followed by Moroccan Revitalizing Mask, I run a stream of warm water through my hair and massage the scalp again (gently) to allow the oils to saturate my hair. After applying the “products” above, and final rinsing, I apply a large bath towel to my hair and press it down on my scalp to remove excess water. (I do not run the towel back and forth over my hair because I don’t want tangling). I then apply Proclaim Edge Gel (stick, Sally’s Beauty for about $5), smooth my edges, and let my hair air dry. I do not palm roll my locks after each wash, but do so about once-twice a month (dry hair). When readying for bed, I wrap a plain white silk scarf around my edges, and then wrap a larger (longer white silk scarf around my head to secure my locks for sleeping. (You can purchase the plain scarves in a variety of sizes, from Dharmatrading.com, for a very reasonable price). I then wrap a net around my head that closes at the forehead via velcro ends. I sleep on a satin pillowcase. In the morning, I spritz my hair with water and fluff my locks with Argan Oil. I’ve found that my scalp loves these oils, and surprisingly, my hair has grown about 1-inch over the recent 2 months. Happy Journeying~!!!~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

