What is the Max Hydration Method?

The max hydration method has been used by all naturals alike, but in particular it claims to give 4c hair wash n go curls with definition and moisture. Depending on where you get your information from (everyone seems to have their own variation) the method is a lengthy process. For the first week the steps must be completed everyday and any drying product ingredients like sulfates or alcohols should be avoided. After the first week of using the Max Hydration method, the regimen is to be implemented every three days and it is highly advised that you do not go past 5 days without implementing the method.

To say the least, the process seems to be a bit of a commitment. Here is a brief overview of the  Max Hydration Method regimen:

Night

Step 1. Clarify with Baking Soda/ ACV rinse
Step 2. Deep condition/GHE, may add light oils to scalp. You may use thermal heating cap or steam for an hour before wearing the shower cap to bed

Day

Step 2. (continued)Rinse out DC and detangle in morning.
Step 3. Clay (you can also sleep with the clay overnight instead rinsing it out in the morning, and just do warm condition or steam/thermal heatcap/ hooded dryer for step 2)
Step 4. Leave in. Hair should be soaking wet, no matter how you go about doing it.
Step 5. Gel/ Oil to set into style (no glycerin or coconut oil)

Recipe for the Baking Soda Rinse

Option 1: Baking soda rinse. Mix 1-2 tablespoons of baking soda into thick 1-2.5 oz
conditioner. Add 4-8 oz of water. Shake. Apply to hair in sections and let sit on the hair for 15-60 minutes. If being done on product free hair, lower bakingsoda measurement to 1-2 teaspoons.
This step is ideal for low porosity hair, since it lifts the cuticle as well.

Option 2 : Alternate Baking soda rinse

2 tablespoons bakingsoda
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon olive oil
6-10 oz of water

Recipe for the Apple Cider Vinegar Rinse

Apple cider vinegar rinse. You do a 1:1 ratio of apple cider vinegar with water in an 8oz applicator bottle. Apply to hair in sections from tips to the root, and on scalp. Let it sit in the hair for 15- 60 mins before rinsing. Note you can choose to only do the acv for 15 mintues, like the BS, but the longer you can leave it the better.

This regimen seems to be working for at least some people, as the website’s testimonials page is filled with videos from YouTubers demonstrating the method and pictures of before and after results.

I definitely believe that this method is plausible, as my 4c hair takes on an entirely different look when I have successfully moisturized it and I retain the moisture I put into it.

4c hair with gel and moisture

The photo on the left is me with no products in my hair and the photo on the right is me with loads of moisture and Eco Styler gel. When I posted a similar picture with my hair having a little wave to it, my blog commentors were convinced that there is no way I have 4c hair. But I do, it’s just that when moisture gets involved Afro hair takes on an entirely different look, the problem that many of us face is keeping that moisture locked in.

This is a video demonstrating and explaining my faux wash n go technique and how I keep my hair moisturized

 

There are two downsides I see with the Max Hydration Method: the time investment and keeping your hair in a wet state for a prolonged period of time.

“Do the steps in the exact order, and do not skip any step, or it will not be as effective. Do not use any drying products. For the first week, these steps must be completed everyday”, says the Max Hydration creators.

Keeping your hair in a wet state for a prolonged period of time may not be the best for its health. Although some people are able to wash their hair daily without any effects. However, it is a fact that when hair is wet, it is in its weakest state. I know for me personally I prefer to work with damp hair rather than soaking wet hair as I find my hair too easy to break in a soaking wet state. For everyone, I am sure it’s different and only you can judge what whether this will be likely to give you the best results.

Would you try the max hydration method?

 

17 thoughts on “What is the Max Hydration Method?

      1. legadema37

        I have fine hair that breaks easily & all that manipulation is just wayyy too much. I’ll just do what I’ve been doing for the past 5 summers : Come Clean shampoo, Knot today leave in, & Kinky Curly Custard. I get perfect little curls in my 4a/b hair in about 15- 20 minutes.

  1. dubaidee4c

    I tried it and the was the best thing I have ever done for my hair. No other regime has ever produced such amazing results. I will never be tempted to use another chemical product in my hair or ever to wear any form of extensions. With MHM I have now learnt how to grow my own hair, try it and see 🙂

    Reply
  2. Tamika Edwards

    I want to try it, its alot of work. I have been growing out my hair 1 year now. I’m currently living in Jamaica, it have been good so far. The crown is thinning, need ideas to grow it back. Congrats too on your bundle of joy.

    Reply
  3. dubaidee4c

    I wish I could post pics on this site so that you could see exactly what you are missing out on if you don’t try MHM! Honestly, its been the best thing for my previously dry (dehydrated) always breaking, always knotting, time, money and product wasting excuse I had for hair aka 4c low porosity & low density kinky hair, before MHM.

    After many years of relaxers and weaves & extensions, my bushy hair was so dry it looked like steel wool 😦 the old school kind…

    After my first treatment – I met my real hair – I met my curls. Aint no looking back since then.

    Reply
  4. PhabulousHair

    I did it, I love the results! Downside…it’s time consuming. It’s worth it if you have the time to devote to it.

    Reply
    1. Cherrie

      The gel is wonderful you shouldn’t substitute mousse due to the alcohol is drying. You can check the list of acceptable gels on the max hydration website or seal with clear pure castor oil. It won’t hold the style as well as the Kinky-Curly Custard though.

      Reply
  5. erika

    I am new to NHR and first thing wanted to find out what to do about my low porosity hair. So I want to try this MHM but I am confused about the clay.. So, I do steps 1&2 at night but then is it saying I can add #3 to #2 at night as well and then do #4 & #5 for the day? Also, if no coconut oil what type of oil should I be using?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

