Oil Rinse: What Is It & Why You Need To Do It

Pin It

Oil Rinse Natural HairWhat is an Oil Rinse?

An oil rinse has been compared to a hot oil treatment done in the shower between shampooing and conditioning. This is something that I do year round. It has changed the way I moisturize my hair.

What Does It Do?

We all know the LOC Method is one of the best ways to moisturize even the driest of hair. [Read More about the LOC Method] But did you know the oil you use and in what order, in which you use it, really makes a difference.

Penetrative oils have the molecular structure that allows them to enter the hair.  Since penetrating oils can enter the hair shaft they can also bind to water inside the hair.  There are only 3 oils that have been proven to absorb or penetrate into hair. These oils are coconut oil, olive oil, and avocado oil. (Read more about Why These Are the 3 Best Oils for Hair.)  You can mix all three together, just two or use them separately.  I like to mix olive oil and coconut oil for my hair.

Applying one of these three oils can help your hair hold on to water. It’s guaranteed to leave your hair soft and moisturize, without a weighed down feel.

Oil Rinse Directions

After shampooing, you apply a liberal amount of hair penetrating oils like olive, avocado, or coconut oil, followed by conditioner. Let it sit for about 3 – 5 minutes and rinse with cool water.  Repeat as frequently as needed.

More Benefits of Oil Rinse

  • moisture retention
  • easier detangling
  • less single strand knots
  • eliminates frizz
  • leaves hair smoother & softer
  • natural shine
22 thoughts on “Oil Rinse: What Is It & Why You Need To Do It

  1. LaToya

    I tried it with coconut and avocado oil and my 3 min Aussie DC. I set under my heat for able 30 mins and rinsed with cool water. I didn’t feel the awesome. I will try again next next wash day.

    Reply
    1. Tamara Post author

      Hi Jessica, Yes, you can still do an oil rinse if you are shampooing your hair. Oil rinse & pre-poo perform different duties.Pre-poo treatments protect your hair during the detangle and shampooing process. While the oil rinse helps to add moisture back into your hair or helps your hair retain moisture.

      Reply
  2. Denise Henderson

    I love ❤ tho site! I have been on my natural hair journey for about 15 yrs. I have tried a myriad of products, to no avail, now I’ll try all of your recommendations and see what happens to my dry very brittle hair. Thanks for all you do and put in the world

    Reply
    1. Tamara Post author

      Lol!!! No, pre-poo is short for pre-shampoo treatment. So if your hair needed it, you would do that first before you shampoo. Shampoo first, oil rinse, use a rinse out conditioner, then LOC.

      Reply
  3. Artrice Barker

    Wow I was already doing this without knowing it had a name. At least I know im on the right track.

    Reply
  4. angela

    base on your explanation i have 4c hair type. what are some of the benefit of using bentonite clay or apple cider vinegar to cleanse my hair. do i have to before shampooing or after shampooing.

    Reply
    1. Arianna-Gabriele Marin

      Whenever I use ACV I use it INSTEAD of shampoo. Because it is meant to cleanse your scalp and get rid of build up there is no need to also use shampoo. I also dilute my ACV with water, but I have a sensitive scalp.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

