When Black Women Have To Stop Coming Out As Natural…

Tamron Hall wears natural hair for the first time on national television. She looks gorgeous everyday, so why is this a big deal…
Tamaron Hall Natural Hair

Previously Published on Clutch Magazine in January 2014

I get it; it’s just hair. Only…it’s not. 

[ad#ad3]

As I read though the comments on Tamron Hall’s Facebook page commending the NBC anchor for publicly coming out as natural (apparently, only her close friends and family knew it before), I didn’t feel happy that yet another Black woman in the mainstream was embracing the texture God gave her (although, I recognize this is indeed awesome), I got a little sad.

“It still saddens me that Black women have to ‘come out’ as natural,” I wrote on a friend’s Facebook post sharing Tamron’s too-cute picture. “I mean, this is the hair we’re born with and yet we are taught to hate it from the jump.”

The picture got me thinking. When will it stop being noteworthy that Black women have embraced the hair that grows out of our heads?When will it stop being celebrated because it’s just the norm and not seen as some political statement or a trend or something Neo-Soul (is this still a thing?) fans do to show that they are down with the people.

When will Black women’s natural hair just be considered commonplace and normal and acceptable?

Read Full Post

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

Photo Credit: Twitter

14 thoughts on “When Black Women Have To Stop Coming Out As Natural…

  1. PeeCeeAch (@PaulaChase)

    I think we’re broaching that time. And it’s an interesting and exciting one. My 19 y.o. is considering going natural and a lot of her peers already have. While my 10 y.o. remains natural at an age when both I and my oldest daughter had already been permed up for a good year. And a vast majority of the little girls my youngest daughter’s age are remaining natural b/c their mom’s are consciously choosing to keep them natural. This means they’ll grow up with a healthier respect for natural hair and I hope will be less likely to ever perm it. I think we’re well on our way to natural becoming just one manner of ways to keep a person’s hair rather than it being a statement.

    Reply
  2. blacklogiclady

    I wish so called “black naturalist” would stop saying GOD gave them their texture. BElieve it or not evolution is what “GAVE” every race of people on the planet their hair, skin and eye color. NO GOD. Why would a GOD say that some people have this type of hair, while others have another type of hair? How does that make sense to you guys? Weather, climate and adaptations, plus mutations changes the coarseness of people’s hair. Hair is just hair, and that IS where we went wrong, thinking that somehow we were cursed and HAD to press our hair to be acceptable to mainstream society. IF you know the reason why some people have kinky hair and some have straight hair, then you might look at the hair thing a little differently. Everyone would have to tell you the truth. There is a reason why black people have kinky or curly textured hair and there is a reason why Asians have the eyes they have, there are reasons that are due to the environment not just because some GOD decided to make the hair different in Africa? How does that make sense to you people? I’m so tired of lazy thinking. Maybe it’s been our deranged way of thinking that has had us F’d up about our hair for hundreds of years?

    Reply
    1. simplyme

      “And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are more valuable to God than a whole flock of sparrows.” Luke 12:7
      I don’t understand why you are attacking people who believe in God because they believe they have a creator, not that they came out of monkeys. So where do monkeys come from? Science has proven that the human brain is not even close to monkey’s brain, as a matter of fact dogs have close similarity to humans than monkeys. You just wasted your time and wrote a bunch of nothing because if you study science or even take a beginner cosmetology course, you will understand the different structures of hair.

      Reply
      1. Pat

        “Science has proven that the human brain is not even close to monkey’s brain, as a matter of fact dogs have close similarity to humans than monkeys.” When you make sweeping claims such as this, it would be helpful if you would cite your sources.This is just false. A simian brain is closer to a human brain than that of a dog. Just as you do not want to be disparaged for your beliefs, do not disparage others for their belief in scientific evidence.

  3. Viola Matthew

    Some people do have a beautifull face for natural short hair. Some dont! It all depends.lets be honest.

    Reply
    1. legadema37

      You got that right! I’ve seen some women for whom a twa just doesn’t work. Most are older women who have lost almost all their hair . I’m pretty sure it must be from perms because when I was growing up & press & curl, grease & water was the norm,m I don’t recall seeing near as many bald women as I see now. There were women who cut their hair short & had some thinning with age but none of them had heads covered with nothing but peach fuzz or hair so sparse that you saw mostly scalp . And those were the days when there was segregation & nearly all the black folks knew each other. As for the ones who wore wigs , they mostly did it to avoid messing with their hair at certain times or to change styles & didn’t wear them all the time. I just got home from a choir rehearsal ( a large gospel choir of about 200) and there were at least 6 almost bald women there with very short cuts with very visible scalps with bare or else peach fuzz The generation of women who were “the grownups” when I was a kid are slowly passing away…they’re in their 80s & 90s & most still have their own hair or had it when they passed…thinner, but not really “scalpy”. My mom had most of her hair when she passed in her 80s. She’d only had a couple of curly perms then quit. My last aunt..in her late 90s recently passed. Never had a perm & still had hair . As for these women who are almost bald, they don’t seem to be stressing over it & just get on with life. So if they’re happy more power to them but it isn’t always flattering

      Reply
  4. Shawn Waters

    I knew it. She instagrammed last year from her vacation with her natural hair. It wasnt a secret.

    Reply
  5. Neva

    It will no longer be noteworthy when natural hair becomes the norm. Unfortunately, it’s still new. I’m sure that with time we will get there, but for now, don’t be sad about it! Who cares if people are doing it for their own personal reasons or because it’s “a trend”! Instead of getting upset about it, be happy that Black people are getting to a place of self-love and acceptance, THAT is the most important thing. I’ve been natural for almost a year and my nine year old daughter all her life. Perhaps once her generation become adults, it will no longer be “a thing” but for now it just is. Let’s welcome all newly naturals with open arms instead of trying to figure out why they did it and celebrate with them because it is worth celebrating!

    Reply
    1. Tinesha

      Well said!! I have been transitioning for one year mid July. I have relaxed my hair for the over 30 years, so I am just getting to learn about my hair…and it has been an adventure. I am grateful for all who have shared their experiences and the how to’s.

      Reply
  6. darcethamanning@ymail.com

    I’ve been wearing my hair natural, for several years now. I’m not trying to make a statement. I like the freedom of not worrying about sweat, humidity, snow or rain ruining my hair.

    Reply
  7. vibeke

    Hi. I’m of mixed race. My mother black American woman. My father Danish. i’ve been living in Denmark all my life. Though i was born in Africa. (long story.) Even though i’ve never been influenced by the black American community or the American society as a whole. My mother grew up with the “hot comb” and later on relaxing her own and my hair to the death. I stopped at as teenager, but never learned to manage my hair or accept it. My mother stopped relaxing her hair a year ago. She will be hitting 60 in a few days time. She called me and told me that she had no clue, how to treat her hair. I’ve been growing dreadlocks for the last 6years, so she asked for some advice. I’ve been googling the information that i have to maintaine and keeping them clean. I love my dreads and my hair is admired by some danes.While at the same time I have trouble convincing them of their authensticity. It makes me sad, because my mother taught me to be proud and independant black woman in a society without other black women as support or pressure. And i feel like she was the the one who should have taught to love my own hair too. But how could she. How could her moother teach her. I’m happy to learn that the black women of America are beginning to own their origin. Everything else is insanity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

