6 Ways to Refresh your Natural Hair & Scalp after a Workout

6 Ways to Refresh your Natural Hair & Scalp after a Workout

natural hair and the gym, working out with natural hair

When it comes to working out, natural hair can have its benefits but a lot of women such as myself do a lot of sweating in the scalp when staying active. Sweat is pretty much water just and salt but over time this mixture can wreak havoc on your natural hair strands by drying out the hair, which can ultimately lead to breakage.

For some women who are in the gym or working out 2-3 times a week or more, having to wash your natural strands after every workout may be impractical and inconvenient. So, what’s a curly girl to do?

Luckily, there are ways you can refresh your scalp and maintain a clean, healthy and refreshed scalp without having to deal with a soaking wet head of hair 2-3 times a week. 

Here are 6 ways you can refresh your scalp after a vigorous, sweaty workout;

tea-tree-oil_natural_hair

1. Tea Tree Oil

Tea tree oil is widely loved for it antibacterial, anti-fungal, antimicrobial and anti-inflammatory properties. It has a slightly medicinal smell and should never be applied without a carrier oil. You can mix tea tree oil with any type of oil, vegetable glycerin, or even Aloe Vera and apply to the scalp. You may notice a slight tingling and refreshed feeling minutes after applying. Tea tree oil will prevent any fungus or bacteria from growing on the scalp. Be sure to wash your hands after handling tea tree oil.

Buy Tea Tree Oil

Click Next Page

4 thoughts on “6 Ways to Refresh your Natural Hair & Scalp after a Workout

  1. CurlyK

    Thanks for the post. I engage in 4-6 vigorous workouts per week, end up with a head full of sweaty hair, and the salt and water mix has wreaked havoc on my natural hair (e.g. hair breakage in inches all around). I’m looking to try one of the recommended dry shampoos and hope to see a difference. Do all the other recommended products work in a similar fashion as the dry shampoo? Help! I need to find an efficient way to remedy that salt buildup between washes. More questions. With this amount of vigorous workouts, is a once per week full shampoo recommended? Should the dry shampoo be used after each workout? Also, I am moving away from a regular stylist, not sure if she is clear on what my hair really needs (e.g. still using mostly products not meant for natural hair) so would also like additional recommendations for regular shampoo products.

    Reply
  2. Charisse

    I workout 4-6 times a week. I use a mix I keep in my shower: 3 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, 3 cups of water,
    10 drops of Rosemary essential oil
    10 drops of Lavender essential oil and 5-10 drops of peppermint. I have it in a applicator bottle and put it only on my scalp and massage. I then have a spray bottle of 1part aloe Vera juice 2 parts water, a drop of a leave in conditioner and add a few drops of various oils. Last, I rub some Shea butter on my hair. That holds me until the end if the week when I can wash.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

