10-Things-4C-Hair-Should-Know

10 Things Women with 4C Hair Should Know

If you’re like me and have 4c Hair these 10 tips will change your life! Well maybe not your life, but it certainly will make your 4C hair so much easier to work with.  Looking back I wish I knew this information because it would have made my transition to natural hair a whole lot easier. Use these tips and transform your 4C  hair’s health and manageability:

4C hair and tips on caring for and styling 4C hair

1. This goes for most natural girls, but especially for 4C ladies never comb your hair when it is bone dry. When you do this you are asking for breakage galore, not to mention a tough time even getting through your hair. It is best to comb damp hair but if you like to style your hair while it is dry, always put in a product that will give you tons of slip before you comb.

2. Avoid using small tooth combs for detangling 4C hair. This is just asking for it! Always use a wide tooth comb or even try finger detangling your hair for a more gentle approach.

3. Try not to use brushes on 4C hair at all. To new naturals this may sound funny, but yes try to eliminate your usage of brushes. Brushes rip and pull at your hair causing splits and breakage. If you must use a brush for your edges or your nape, use a boar bristle brush, infrequently. Brushing will thin your hair out so fast; every time I see someone over brushing their hair it makes me cringe a bit. Girl you are losing so much hair doing all that!

4. Wash n’ gos may not be for you, especially if you like curl definition. For many 4C ladies this “shortcut” will not be the route you want to take. If having no definition is cool with you, then by all means try it! However, be prepared for massive shrinkage and matting with your 4C hair. For many of us ladies with 4C hair Wash n’ gos just don’t work out and then we end up looking like this:

You may be better off doing a faux wash n’ go, which I will discuss in a future upcoming post.

5. You don’t have to do anything special to 4C hair when you go to bed.  Put your hair in a sloppy ponytail or very chunk twists, the goal is just to prevent your hair from matting. If you go to bed with only a bare bones fro, overtime, your hair will become matted, tangled, and the end result will be breakage.

6.  For some of us wet styling just doesn’t work on our 4C hair! In fact, it may cause tangles, matting, and severe shrinkage. When you air dry your hair first you will get a more stretched out result for your style and there are less tangles to deal with.

7. You can use water to moisturize your hair. The trick to using water on 4C hair  is do not saturate it; lightly spritz it! You will find that sometimes using product throughout the week is not enough. In some cases, you may need just a touch of water to restore the balance.

8. Choose 4C friendly hairstyles that you can stick to for at least a week and that do not require tons of daily styling. The less you have to manipulate your 4C hair the better. Lately my puff has been my go to style, because I simply moisturize when needed and go.

9.  Have a trouble spot? The center of my head seems to be the driest and kinkiest texture. If you can relate, the best way to deal with this is by applying more moisture and conditioner to this area. Also try to lay off heat in this area and when you do use it use a lower setting to avoid dryness.

10. Conditioner is your friend! Try to deep condition 4C hair as often as possible. This will help with moisture issues, plus it will improve your hair’s manageability. Some good conditioners for 4C hair, that I recommend are: Giovanni Tea Tree Conditioner and Carols Daughter Black Vanilla Smoothie.

10 thoughts on “10 Things Women with 4C Hair Should Know

  1. jayjhonsoncom

    I’ve been following a few of your posts for a while now and this is the 1st time im commenting… I’ve been natural all my life yet still find it slightly entertaining to hear of women who become familiar with the hair that’s been on their heads since birth?!

    I have a hard time with wash’n goes too…i shampoo, condition comb out my hair whilst the conditioner’s still in then rinse out the conditioner towel dry a little get out of the shower grease with palmer’s hair food formula and then plait. thats it. couldnt be happier with my hair though its thinning 😦 i think that part’s def genes ><

    on that note i gotta go wash my hair and im neeeeever in the mood to *sigh*

    keep up the lovely work, ciao

    Reply
  2. Tanisha

    Everything you’ve said is on point!! THANK YOU… Now I don’t feel alone. When i look at styles on youtube i end up knowing for a fact my hair will not look like that in the end…. I’ve been at this for three years so I know what works for my 4c. My go to is and will always be the twist out. I twist on the weekends and keep it out for the week and condition it once every 2 weeks.

    Reply
  3. Zonni

    Great tips..I can totally relate since my hair type is 4c and at times it’s very hard to maintain but I practice some of the tips given and find that they do work on my hair. I usually apply a leave in conditioner after I wash my hair and I moisturize and seal my hair as well, I find that they stay soft and manageable for quite some time. Thanks nonetheless for the tips 🙂

    Reply
  4. wegotkidz

    The fact that 4c’s can’t do a wash and go is a myth. I have 4c, straight from the motherland hair, and I’ve been able to achieve a beautiful wash and go with little matting and tangling. It’s all about hydration! Look up the maximum hydration method. I’ve been doing it for months, and it’s got my 4c curls clumping and popping. The method requires a LOT of time, but if you ever want to be able to wash and go and cut down on your detangling time, it’s totally worth it.

    Reply
    1. Melissa

      What products do you use? I know… Different results for different people. But, I’d love to know.

      Reply
  5. Kali

    I’d say the very best advice for 4c hair is the baggy method and/or greenhouse effect, with a bit of ghee worked into your strands….works miracles when it comes to retaining moisture and therefore length! Just call me the “bag lady”, but I simply put a head wrap over my bag–turban style– and call it a day. I’ve managed to grow 3 inches in the last two months doing exactly this and I don’t plan to stop!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

