Oyin Handmade- First Impression

Oyin Handmade: First Impressions

Oyin Handmade- First ImpressionI know I’m late to the party on this one… Yes, you read correctly. This post will outline my FIRST impression of Oyin Handmade.

No, I have not been under a rock. I know that’s what you’re thinking…

I don’t blame you. I have heard nothing but great things about Oyin Handmade Burnt Sugar Pomade and Juices & Berries for years.

But it wasn’t until recently that the wonderful peeps of over a Oyin sent me the 5 piece Snack Pack to review. If you frequent NaturalHairRules.com, you know that I never accept financial compensation for reviews. All reviews featured on this site are shared at my personal discretion and all thoughts and opinions are mine.

BTW Oyin Handmade is available at participating Target Stores. This is a great accomplishment for this family-owned business. Kudos!!!

I won’t bore you with frivolous details like how beautiful the packaging is or how delicious each one of the five products in the Snack Pack smelled… I know you want to know does it work and is it worth the money.

Oyin Handmade Greg Juice

The first thing I tried was Oyin Handmade Greg Juice. My natural hair was extremely dry. It had been 3-4 days since I last washed it and I had been protective styling in my top knot bun. (Video Tutorial for my Top Knot Bun).

My scalp was so thirsty and my hair parched. I used Greg Juice as a hydrating mist before applying Oyin Handmade Hair Dew Daily Hair Quenching Lotion.

Herbal water infused with Aloe Vera Juice and Vegetable glycerin made Greg Juice extremely hydrating. AND the essential lavender oil was calming to my scalp. I also used Greg Juice as a leave-in spray as suggested by the label and sealed in the moisture with Eden BodyWorks Jojoboa Monai Hair Oil. This is a great combo especially if you have dry scalp like me.

SEE ALSO: Get Rid of Dandruff

Hair Dew was extremely lightweight but potent. Unlike other daily moisturizers or hair milks that I’ve used in the past, it did not leave a film or white grainy residue. I really appreciated that.

That same night, I shampooed and conditioned my hair with Jessicurl Hair Cleansing Cream, Deep Conditioning Treatment, and Too Shea Extra Moisturizing Conditioner. (Full Review Coming. Sign Up for My Email List HERE to Be the First To Know When Its Up.)

Afterwards, I twisted my hair with my coconut-olive oil mixture and used Oyin Handmade Shine & Define on the right side of my head. I wanted to have a fair comparison so I didn’t using a styling product on the left side.

Oyin Handmade Hair Dew, Daily Quenching Hair Lotion

Yes, this product smells divine like a bag of Tropical Skittles (seriously, it does). It was creamy and somewhat grainy in my hand. I’m not exactly sure why that was. But it still played well in my hair. It resulted in a full fluffy twist-out that was soft and shiny.

I can’t say that I noticed a big difference between the sides; the side with and without the products though. (See Above Picture.) I think the Shine & Define is a good maintenance product but not the best styling product.

As always I will give it another try before writing it off. I also still have to try Oyin Handmade Honey Hemp and Burnt Sugar Pomade from the 5-Piece Snack Pack. Maybe I’ll do mini twist or something. I’ll keep you posted.

Would I Buy Them?

Greg Juice and Hair Dew, YES!!! I’m not completely sold on Shine & Define and still need to try Honey Hemp and Burnt Sugar Pomade.

Leave ALL Your comments and questions below in the Comment Section

Did you find this review helpful? What else would you like to know about these products?

Leave a Reply

