5 Easy DIY Deep Conditioners for Natural Hair

5 Easy DIY Deep Conditioners for Natural Hair

DIY hair,  Natural Hair products, deep conditioner, natural hair, home grown

Creating your own natural hair care recipes at home doesn’t have to be tedious or time consuming. By using practical ingredients that are usually found in most homes, you can create a phenomenal at-home deep conditioner in 5 minutes or less. Here are 5 easy yet powerful DIY deep conditioner recipes that you can make in the convenience of your own home:

1. Banana Deep Conditioner for Dry Hair

Bananas are one of the better kept secrets when it comes to treating dry hair, as they are rich in beneficial vitamins such as potassium and Vitamin A. Olive oil is used to help penetrate and add moisture to parched strands. Greek yogurt will provide the hair with a healthy balance of moisture and protein to help soften dry hair strands.

You will need:

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 2-3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup tablespoons plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon pure honey
  • plastic conditioning cap

How to Use: Mix banana and EVOO in a blender until very smooth, then add remaining ingredients and mix well until there are no lumps. Pour mixture through a strainer to remove any extra lumps or banana pulp before applying to your hair. Apply to wet hair, cover with plastic conditioning cap and leave on for a minimum of 30 minutes before rinsing thoroughly.

Go to the Next Page

 

22 thoughts on “5 Easy DIY Deep Conditioners for Natural Hair

  1. Kelley

    Are these recipes meant for multiple uses, or would I apply the whole amount to my hair each time? If it can be used multiple times, how long is each batch good for? Thanks for your help!

    Reply
  2. KinkyPie

    ive tried the banana conditioner and my hair LOVED IT!
    the only problem was i didn’t know you were supposed to strain it before you put it on your hair so i had chunks of banana stuck in my defined curls i washed out and detangle again to make sure all of those bits were out.Omg ladies dont ever to forget to put it in a blender and strain it XD

    Reply
  3. Kimberly

    My daughter has started her transition about a month and the only problem I’m having is the roughness . What can I use to soften the hair?

    Reply
  4. Sigrun

    Hi, Kimberly

    If you still check this, and if I understand your question, give the treatment she’s on a couple months and it will make a HUGE difference.

    Personally, I use the Suave keratin infusion stuff. Both the shampoo (weekly) and the conditioner (2x/week), unless I get my hair really dirty. Basically just keep it brushed and don’t wash out all the oils by shampooing a lot.

    Reply
  5. Anaka

    For those asking about the amount of yogurt to use (since it says cup tablespoons), it should be a 1/4 CUP. A quarter of a tablespoon is less than a teaspoon and therefore it would be pointless to even add it to the recipe.

    Reply
  6. Alexy

    Hi Tamara, I want o start my organic, natural hair product business, pls help, what do I need, how to start, all the ingredients I need for all the hair products.

    Reply
    1. Alice

      If it helps, I like using the avocado deep conditioning method. Not because my hair is brittle and dry but because it leaves my hair soft and moisturized while being easy to handle for the whole week until my next wash. For me, the yogurt ingredient has left my hair rough, and the banana works too but I stopped using them after all the pits I had to pick out. Plus, lots of research will help and asking other black women how they gather ingredients for their products and start/maintain their business. Good luck! Can’t wait to see you in stores.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

