Oil Infusion Repairs Breakage

5 Ways To Repair Seasonal Breakage

This winter has been brutal; showing our hair no mercy.  Even with protective styling and moisturizing regularly, its been difficult to fully protect your hair.  Its very possible you’ve fallen victim to seasonal breakage due to the harsh winter season.

Luckily, milder temperature will offer relief but there are some steps you can take to revitalizing and repairing any damage or breakage caused by the winter.

Get A Trim

I know clipping your ends seems a little counterintuitive when it comes to growing healthy hair. But believe me its necessary.  Winter is one of the leading causes of seasonal breakage and split ends which can only be remedied by a good trim.

See Also: 10 Tips For Preventing Split Ends

Try An Oil Infusion

Olive Oil Infusion Kit is a two-step deep conditioning treatment that almost miraculously hydrates the driest of curls. Its available at Carol’s Daughter.com for $20. But you can easily make your own, there’s a great step-by-step in my 10-Step Guide To Winter Natural Hair Care.

Use a Clarifying Shampoo

In the winter, it’s very beneficial to use your heavy oils or butters to seal in moisture and protect your hair.

These oils tend to be a little harder to rinse and wash off.  A creamy clarifying shampoo like Ouidad Superfruit Renewal Clarifying Shampoo gently cleans hair without over drying.

Invest In A Hair Steamer

Regularly steaming your hair not only adds moisture without completely saturating your hair, it will refresh parched tresses likes no bodies business.  Around here we call the Q-Redew Handheld Steamer a life changer.

Buy: Q-Redew Handheld Streamer

Do a Protein Treatment

Protein treatments repair hair by replenishing its building block or the protein structure; leaving you with stronger and healthier hair.  Protein treatment can be done as need or quarterly to maintain the strength of your hair.

I use African’s Best Hair Mayonnaise which is a light protein treatment bi-weekly and for more intense protein treatments, ApHogee 2-Step Protein Treatment and Balanced Moisturizer is one of the best.

See Also: DIY VS. Store Bought Protein Treatments

Purchase 12-page Guide To Winter Hair Care  For More Great Healthy Hair Tips and Product Recommendations

Leave a Comment Below And Tell Me How You Keep Your Hair Healthy This Winter

6 thoughts on “5 Ways To Repair Seasonal Breakage

  1. Mary Welch

    My hair suffered a lot at the beginning of the temperature change. I had breakage close to the root and my ends dried up and came off in little tufts. This was my first winter since I big chopped and I was not using the right things for the drop in dew points and humidity. I had to cut off nearly two inches. So I stopped wearing it out, got out the wigs, started doing pre poos and hot oil treatments every week and started doing intense moisturizing treatments with honey and olive oil. I wore it out Sunday for the first time in months and it has started to look good again. But what a set back.

    Reply
  2. Brandie Aleman

    I wear a lot of wigs and protective styles in the winter. I have found that wearing my hair out in Michigan winter is a big no no. In addition to that I try to deep condition my hair once a week. Plus I prepoo my hair before washing with shampoo once a month. You have to find a balance.

    Reply
  3. Mari

    Are Apoghee products considered a natural hair product since all of them (at least the ones I’ve seen) have parabens in them?

    Reply
    1. Tamara Post author

      No, its not a natural product but its not marketed as a natural product, either. It’s still one of the best protein treatments on the market.

      Reply
  4. BlueCornMoon

    Last winter I had a lot of dryness,thinning/breaking at the nape & general breakage. I had recently retired after a very stressful work year & stress affects hair growth. I’d been using Qhemet Biologics in previous years & hot oil & protein treatments but last winter it wasn’t enough,not even my hair steamer got rid of the problem, so I went back old school & added HAIR GREASE to my regimen. First I did a hard trim to get rid of split ends then I would shampoo,condition, use a leave in, a Qhemet cream & then seal with a little Dax or Blue Magic. It saved my hair !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

