Natural Hair Rules Celebrates 8 Years of Marriage

Celebrating 8 Years Of Marriage

Natural Hair Rules Celebrates 8 Years of MarriageEight years ago on September 28th, I married my husband. I was twenty and he was twenty-three. Of course people questioned whether or not we were ready. They assumed we were pregnant because we couldn’t simply be young and in love. I really couldn’t understand this response. Someone even asked me “why did you say yes?”

My parents were younger than that when they got married, and they celebrated their 30th Wedding Anniversary this month. They have been married more than half of their lives. (Can you imagine?)

I think I always knew I would get married young. I didn’t believe in dating without knowing “where’s this going”. I’m not that girl. I could never date someone for years without some type of commitment or end game. My husband is the same way.

After three months, we knew we would be married. On our 1 year dating anniversary we said I do. Now that we’re eight years in I feel like we just skipped right to the good part by getting married so young. Its funny but because we’re married we couldn’t do the make up to break up’s thing. Divorce isn’t an option so we have really learned how to work through our issues. You never fully understand how “to pick and choose your battles” until your married. (For real!!!) Many of our friends are just now learning these valuable lessons with their significant other. Or worse they’re single & hating it.

For nine years plus, its been us. We have gone through just about everything you could go through as a couple. Through the good and bad, I find comfort in knowing he always has my back. The two that are one, are now three with the birth of our first child in November ’11.

All anniversary’s are a blessing but this one is really dear to my heart. I think its because of my parent’s 30th Anniversary. I look forward to that. To celebrating many more years of martial bliss. Its also because of my son who has really centered our family. He has brought us together in a way that is indescribable. We’re also celebrating two years of parenthood. Its been the most amazing ride.

There’s something about loving and being loved in spite of imperfection. That’s what true love is all about.

To hubby/babby daddy, Thank you for loving me. I love you dos! Here’s to many, many more years of us!

13 thoughts on “Celebrating 8 Years Of Marriage

  1. CPJdet

    Congratulations! 8 years is very significant. I wish you and your family the best.
    Also, 8 turned on its side is the symbol for infinity, and there is no end to the number 8. I hope you enjoy your anniversary 🙂

    After the New Year, it’ll be 8 years for me and my husband and we’re still going strong. (We got the same reactions/expectations as we married when I was almost 22 and he was 26, after knowing each other for a little over a year.)

    Reply
      1. Susie Dean

        Marriage….is work/beautiful thing! Ordained by God!gets nooooo bettern that. We’ve been married 36 years. My husbands first my second. He’s 63 I’m 61.god bless your union.

  2. Jay

    Its always inspiring to me to hear/read about married couples are stick it out and by stick it out, i mean, that no matter what, marriage is sacred to both partners. I hope to have this kind of bond with someone one day. I think I may have already found him but not sure. 🙂 Congratulations and may God bless you guys to see many more years on this wonderful journey together. 🙂

    Reply
  3. jasmines will

    Congrats on your anniversary and happy birthday! I like that motto divorce isn’t an option. BTW your family is so cute especially that little baby of yours. I also love seeing black families stick together.

    Reply
    1. NHR Post author

      Thanks Jasmine!!! I really appreciate your compliment and congrats. I love seeing black families stick together too. I’m very fortunate to have parents that lead by example. I hope my son can say the same one day.

      Reply
  4. Naturally Nicky

    Congratulations on your 8th year!!! God is so good!!!! I know God is the center of your marriage that is why you two will be celebrating your 30th year anniversary just like your parents. I am so happy for you Tamara!!! You are an inspiration to many and may God continue to give you bigger platforms to share your testimony!

    Reply
  5. Antoinyce E.

    Soooo BEAUTIFUL!!! This is not something you read or hear everyday, but it certainly is a breath of fresh air when you do! I am so happy for you all and praying that you experience many more joyous years ahead… Enjoy the LOVE!!! CONGRATULATIONS 🙂

    Reply
  6. brynelle

    This is quite interesting and inspiring. It is good to meet someone and know where it is going. Relationships takes years and work. Congratulations. I wish you all the best.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

