Prince is Walking

My Prince is WalkingThis picture is really worth a thousand words. It says everything, beautifully.  I was getting a little worried.  At 15 months my Prince was taking his time when it came to walking. But I knew he would get up in his own time. And it literally happened right before my eyes. He was standing up all day. Then later that evening he decided he wanted to move his feet too. He stood up and took his first steps in the same day.

He’s also signing. I have been teaching the sign for ‘eat/hungry’, ‘milk’, ‘no’ and ‘sleepy’. I’m adding others like ‘bath’, ‘more’ and ‘banana’ since he’s a little older.  I started signing as an experiment. I wanted to see if it works and how he would respond to it.  He didn’t start signing back until recently but about 10 months or so he would respond to sign.  Especially the sign for hungry or eat. He knows that one very well. I think last week is when I asked him if he wanted milk. And he signed milk in response to my question. OmG I screamed. Its amazing to see him learning. What a sense of accomplishment?! I really felt like a super hero that day.

[ad#ad1]

Sometimes I’m really hard on myself. I feel a bit stagnant when it comes to my professional goals.  Especially considering most of my day is spent cooking, cleaning, changing and washing diapers and the list never ends. A friend reminded me that I have to change my perspective because soon he will be self sufficient. I will walk him to his kindergarten classroom before I know it.

I think its important to remember motherhood is not the ultimate end.  I can still reach my goals. It’s just not in my timing. Maybe God is extending His lessons of grace and patience. I don’t know. I’m still trying to figure it out. But I do know that I’m taking one step at a time towards our family goals by caring for our first born. Not only that but I’m still making great strides with Natural Hair Rules. Its just not at the pace I have come accustom to.  I’m very thankful I can witness these priceless milestones.

How do you stay focus on your goals when you feel stagnant?

10 thoughts on “Prince is Walking

  1. TWA4now

    You are blessed to be able to stay home and enjoy your child without rushing back and forth to daycare. Is your husband helping you? All is God’s good timing….cherish your child and mommy moments<3 some want children and cannot….so enjoy it the good, bad, and otherwise they grow up so very fast and motherhood is forever!

    Reply
    1. Naturalhairrules Post author

      Thanks. Yes, hubby/baby daddy is very helpful. I’m very thankful. A two person team makes it easier.

      Reply
  2. LaTika

    Tamara this a great post that I can surely relate. You don’t want to completely forget about those personal and professional goals but after all of the mommy and wife duties it seems that there is no energy left to invest in your own growth (spiritual, professional and otherwise).

    I’ve had to begin writing my goals out and putting them to a timeline to mark my progress. I try to remain flexible because with a kid you HAVE TO BE! My husband is definitely a support and oftentimes he has to remind me of my goals and even steps in to help with the baby when I need time to focus sans distractions (or just sleep).

    I thought the older Charity got the easier it would be to focus on my goals but it seems to be just the opposite. She requires even more attention now and when she is hungry she doesn’t sign she just grabs me in the middle of whatever I am doing (including using the bathroom) and drags me to the kitchen…..She DEMANDS my attention now and when I am studying or trying to do work at the house she has to make sure that I am take breaks every 30 seconds to play with her.

    Some days I am just tempted to say ah just forget it, in regards to my goals but I don’t want to be that parent that drives their kids crazy by trying to live vicariously through them because they’ve never accomplished anything themselves….you know?

    It is a fun and tiring journey and frankly, I don’t think I’ll ever figure it out but I do believe that it is our responsibility as mothers and wives to sacrifice for our families and I’m okay with that.

    Reply
  3. tasha

    that is awesome my son is 2 and say maybe 10 words he is a late talker but everything else he started early crawling walking, just not getting the hand of pronounceing any words i have tried signing that he rarly does and speech therapy was useless so im hoping he will talk on his time.

    Reply
  4. Marsha

    The two most important There are two important ‘jobs’ in this world: Parenting and educating. Parents and teachers aren’t well paid. What you’re doing will pay off big. If I could, I’d do it all over again and stay closer to home with my children. When you’re old you’ll be glad you stayed home and reared a well-rounded son. No one can do that better than you. Nothing is more important. Focus on that and make memories.

    Submitted in loving memory of my son, Tommy.

    Reply
    1. Naturalhairrules Post author

      Hi Marsha,

      Thank you so much for your comment. I pray you will continue to use your story to inspire and encourage others like you have done for me. Again thank you from the bottom of my heart.

      Reply
  5. Leah

    It is often hard to see the growth and progress that we as mothers have sown. I am a mother of 3 year old boy/girl twins and an 8yr old son with Cerebral palsy in a wheelchair. I know all about not always seeing the fruits of your labor! Between cooking, cleaning, washing, playing, teaching, medications, and helping my husband there is often no time left for me. Many days it seems as though you don’t even exist or nothing ever gets completed. But God knows what we can bear and I have learned that the trials of today really changed and aided in my endurance and perspective of things I experience down the road. Focus on your blessings and you’ll see the growth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

