Preventing Breakage During Your Transition

Preventing Breakage During Your Transition

 Courtesyof Naptural Curly.com

[ad#ad3]

Here are some tips I can share to help you keep breakage to a minimum

1. Keep Your Hair Moisturized From Root to Tip

When I first started transitioning (months 2-4), I was trying every moisturizer under the sun.

I quickly found that too much product was actually drying my hair out and causing it to break.  Plus I never knew what was working since I had so many different products on my strands.

I learned to use one or two moisturizers throughout the week.  If I did a rod set, I’d use Jane Carter’s Nourish and Shine to moisturize my curls upon removing the rollers.

Then I’d use pure castor oil every other day until wash day. Castor oil is very thick, but it’s a great moisturizer because it penetrates the hair shaft.  My natural hair really seems to love this stuff.

I typically use a quarter size amount, rub it into my palms and gently pat it into my hair so I don’t disturb my style (especially if I’m wearing a curly do.)

2. Detangle on Wash Day Only

The longer you transition, the more fragile your relaxed hair will become.  Also, natural hair can be very dry and difficult to comb dry (especially if your hair is long.) So you want to manipulate your hair as little as possible.

I wear a lot of rod sets and flat twist styles during my transition so there’s no need for combing. I simply pick my curls out with my fingers every morning and I’m ready to go.

I find it easier to detangle my hair when it’s conditioned and wet.  This also helps prevent breakage.

Click here to watch a video of how I wash and detangle my hair.

Scroll Down For Next Page

4 thoughts on “Preventing Breakage During Your Transition

  1. mamie allen

    I am transitioning into one year and a half now there was so much I didn’t know about natural hair and how to take care of it thanks for all the tips&products.

    Reply
  2. Ochi

    Thanks 4 d tip. Am new to natural hair. Still trying to transition but d problem I ve is that my hair is thin & very soft can hardly hold a style 4 a day. After extensive reading I suspect I ve a type 2a hair. Pls I will like to know how I can manage it. U can send links sites & blogs. I need help b4 I become frustrated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

