HairStory-Shannan B.

1. How long have you been natural? Almost two years (Anniversary 8/2012)
2. Why and how did you go natural? (Did you transition? What products and styles did you use?) I went natural because I was amazed at the transition a friend was taking to make herself feel free. I fell in love with the concept of being free from my hair. Wanted to enjoy getting my hair wet while on vacation or if I got caught in the rain, what others thought of how my hair had to look, and allowing my son to see my hair in its natural state as being an role model/teaching moment  for him. I had a fade I cut my hair all the way down my son and I rocked the same look. J
3. Did you transition long term or do the big chop? Why? It was all or nothing I actually put a relaxer in my hair on a Monday and BC that Saturday. My hair was already short and I just woke up and went for it.
4. Tell us about your hair regimen. What products and techniques do you use? How do you keep your hair moisturized?  I only shampoo my scalp every 2 days, to make sure my scalp stays clean. Now that it is hot I usually have leave the house with conditioner in my hair and if there is nothing going on special I usually throw my hair in two twists.  I use grape seed oil, coconut oil and Shea butter; I also apply the controversial hair grease (only on the ends).
[ad#banner]
4. How would you describe this experience? Not love at first sight. More of an arranged marriage, I knew I wanted to do it, but wasn’t amazed after the decision. Now I have embraced my hair, and it has turned out to be one of the best self reflections I have made.
5. What was others response to your naturality? “People with “good hair” just don’t know what to do with it!” My husband started to love it once I embrace and owned it he is one of my biggest supporters.
6. Who was your biggest influence/support? How did they provide support during your natural hair transition? My husband he helped me with the BC’d after I came back from the salon he did not like the shape and he styled it for me with his clippers. My husband keeps it real, and I love him for it.
7. What have you learned since being natural (about yourself, your hair and other people)? Hair is very judgmental; it is a much focused subject in the black community. Having a relaxer I never had anyone who wanted to touch to judge the “softness”, texture or length. My natural hair can get compliments as well as curiosity stares. It never seems to amaze me the attention I get.
8. What advice would you give to those transitioning or concerning natural? Don’t be too much concern on the videos on YouTube. You will go crazy and broke it you buy or focus on hair growth and products others use. Find out what works best no two naturals are the same even if you are in the same family. The most important thing is strong, healthy hair even if it’s short and health the key word if HEALTHY.
Leave a Reply

