Why Is Everyone Hatin on Solange Knowles via Jezebel

Why is Everyone Hating on Solange Knowles’ Natural Hair? via Jezebel

Since Solange cut her hair some time last year she has been the topic of many natural hair discussions.  This propped her to a natural hair rant on Twitter this pass weekend.

[ad#banner]

Photo Credit

Essence magazine talked to Solange Knowles for its June issue, and the portion of the interview dealing with the singer/DJ/auntie-of-Blue Ivy’s hair was reposted on the natural hair blog Curly Nikki. Knowles said uncontroversial and nice-sounding things like, “I actually love my natural hair when it’s in a twist out and it’s been slept on for five days and revived by the steam of the shower” and offered friendly encouragement to any black woman who wanted to “go natural.” Blog commenters promptly assailed Knowles for having “dry, unstyled and unshaped” hair. Several suggested she needed a twist-out to give her hair greater curl definition and to use more products for shine. “I’m going to say it,” wrote one. “Natural hair can be VERY beautiful. Solange’s hair is not. Even if she wore an afro, pick it out even or something. It always looks unkempt.” Wrote another, “This is why people think natural hair looks bad.” The thread grew long and unruly.
Knowles was alerted to it via this post on Twitter. She responded:

I’ve never painted myself as a team natural vice president. I don’t know the lingo and I don’t sleep with a satin cap…However, I did noticed when I picked out my hair, I kept seeing feedback about needing a “twist out”. Connnnfesssioonnn: I HATE twist outs. Correction, I hate the way they look on me. SO i end up always picking them/steaming them out. Look, all i’m saying is. My hair is not very important to me….so i don’t encourage it to be important to you.

[Curly NikkiModerne Meid, @solangeknowles]


 

One thought on “Why Is Everyone Hatin on Solange Knowles via Jezebel

  1. Renee P. Marshall-Richards

    Solange, I wear my hair natural as well & feel the same way that women, especially Black women waste too much time & money on hair. We need to embrace each other’s natural beauty in order to lift each other up for unity & progress. Stay on your course as I am on mine. Peace & Blessings my Sister, Renee P. Marshall-Richards

    Reply

Leave a Reply

