MTV Casting Call: Big Chop

[ad#horizontal-banner]

MTV Casting Call: Are You Ready For The Big Chop?

Short Natural Hair

Photo Courtesy of Essence

Have you ever considered how much fun it could be for you or someone you know to appear on a reality show about going natural? MTV’s True Life is looking for such a person, so lower your reality TV guard just a bit and think about it!

Is your hair your obsession? How are you struggling with your hair? Do you feel natural hair would let you embrace your true self, and you want to go for the “big chop?” Why now? What has held you back up to this moment? We would like to follow someone who is ready to do the “big chop” and follow them on their journey as they transition into their natural hair.

If you appear to be between the ages of 15 -28 and would like us to document your transition to natural hair, email us at casting@lintonmedia.com and tell us about your story. Please include your name, location, phone number and recent photos of yourself.

What are your thoughts? Will MTV be able to accurately document the struggles and challenges of an African American Woman’s natural hair journey in a way that is not patronizing?

7 thoughts on “MTV Casting Call: Big Chop

  1. Ayisha Hinds

    i love the fact that natural hair is so popular and would love to participate . For 1 i have natural hair and i have my days when i love it n days its just to much ,but at the end of whatever day i can say its all mine.

    Reply
  2. dvon

    unfortunately i just missed the age bracket.. cut mine off 5 yrs ago.. had some ups and downs.. just started wearing mine out.. been wearing weaves.. i would love to see how they find what works for them..

    Reply
  3. Carolyn Malachi

    Thanks for using my pic for this piece. Wearing my natural hair this short was one of the best decisions Ive ever made. I cut it just before entering my senior year of high school in 2002 because I wanted a style that would be unique, convenient, and definitive. My chic caesar, as I like to call it, still represents all of those things today. Last month I mentioned to my fans that I was thinking about growing my hair out. They responded in a flurry of protest. I guess my hair symbolizes as much to others as it does to me. Thats heavy!

    Reply
  4. Sandra Davis

    I love my short natural style! It has allowed me so much freedom.
    No longer planning my saturday around my hair appointment.
    No longer planning my workouts or runs around what am I going to do with my hair
    No longer trying to hide my slight bald spot, my hair is cut down low so it is not noticeable.

    Reply
  5. Michaelle

    Only if they have actual black folks on the staff that understand the journey to assist in editing so what is recorded will not be misunderstand by a non black person.

    Reply
  6. Tonya Robinson

    If we as Black Women keep believing that we must have an European look just to be considered beautiful, we will forever give society an inconsistent image of the way God intended us to look. It is also a marketing strategy to keep saturating public media with images to further medicate our thoughts and actions to buy into that “look” thus keeping beauty supply retailers rich and us bound. MTV can and will do all to portray an accurate picture of Black Women Hair images, but it is up to us, all Black Women, to feel and wear who we truly are.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

