HairStory- Jasmine J.

[ad#horizontal-banner]
1. How long have you been natural?

I have been natural for about 2 and a ½ months.

2. Why and how did you go natural? (Did you transition? What products and styles did you use?)

I’ve always had long hair, I loved it. As a child my mother didn’t have the patience to deal with my long thick hair, so she permed it, and that’s all I’ve ever known. I moved to Los Angeles in 2010, and I didn’t have my hairdresser to do my hair, and since I didn’t trust anyone touching my hair, I donned weaves for what seemed like an eternity. Then I thought to myself, I haven’t got a perm in months..which is good, I’m tired of abusing my sensitive scalp with chemical burns, and I had always wanted to go natural, my mom is natural as well, so one day I told her, I’m done with weaves and perms, I’m growing my perm out, and that was that, so I transitioned for 10 months. During my transition period I wore braids and weaves.

3. Did you transition long term or do the big chop? Why?

I transitioned for 10 months before I did the big chop. I tried to transition as long as I could, so my hair would still be longer than most TWA’s, which is was LOL. It wasn’t hard for me to transition for so long because I knew it was helping to make my hair stronger, to love my true texture.

4. Tell us about your hair regimen. What products and techniques do you use?  How do you keep your hair moisturized?

My hair regimen is really simple, I don a lot of wash and go styles. The products I use daily are : Olive oil Eco-Styler gel-perfect for wash and go styles, lots of coconut oil and shea butter,and lots of tender love and care with deep conditioning treatments. I wash my hair 2x a week, and DC 1x a week. I shampoo with Giovanni shampoo, which is sulfate free, and condition with the crème of nature argan oil from morocco conditioner that smells amazing, and keeps my curls soft and bouncy. This regimen is the best for keeping my hair moisturized.

[ad#horizontal-banner]

4. How would you describe this experience?

This has been an amazing experience. Doing the BC has truly boosted my confidence. I do think I have beautiful hair, and sad I hadn’t embraced it sooner. I’ve gotten raves from all different cultures who long to have my thick curly hair and it makes me feel so good, I owe a lot of my happiness and success to youtube, the videos on there paved the way for me!! This is my hair hair only at 2 and a ½ months, wait till I hit the 1 year mark (:

5. What was others response to your naturality?

Now some people in my family haven’t gotten used to the change yet, they’re used to seeing me with long gorgeous straight hair, but they will learn to love my hair. I work in retail, and I always get people coming up to me asking me “How do you get your curls so defined”, “what’s your hair regimen”, “your hair is so beautiful”, it makes me feel so good. I’ve also gotten more notice from guys which doesn’t hurt, I never knew guys liked natural girls (:

6. Who was your biggest influence/support?  How did they provide support during your natural hair transition?
My  mother!! After all she too is natural. When I told her I was going natural she was so excited. Like mother like daughter the saying goes.. She supported me all the way, by telling me about products, to hairstyles, to cute accessories, and yes she witnessed by BC!! My mom has dreads, and says looking at my fro, she wants to get her afro back, haha.

7. What have you learned since being natural (about yourself, your hair and other people)?

I’ve learned that being natural, it gives you confidence. Natural hair girls look different than most other girls, are hair is no longer smooth and silky, and may have a different texture than the next girl, but you learn to embrace it. Being natural is learning to love yourself, the real you. Natural hair is versatile, and also requires lots of tender love and care, it’s a journey from understanding your new hair, and understanding yourself. Patience is a virtue, and it takes patience to understand your hair.  Others won’t accept you, until you accept yourself. I have no regrets, this is one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

8. What advice would you give to those transitioning or concerning natural?

If you have thoughts about going natural , here’s my advice DO IT!! It will be one of the most amazing decisions you can ever make. Before you do make sure you do your research about natural hair. You want to make sure you’re comfortable with knowing about the textures, and maintenance and upkeep. It’s a lot of work to have natural hair because it has to be well kept and moisturized. Natural hair IS VERSATILE, so don’t let anyone tell you  that you can’t wear different styles. You can go from afros, to twists, to bantu knots, or whatever you can imagine. Afraid of dealing with kinky hair, it’s not impossible to work with. The term NAPPY goes out the window with our hair, kinks are beautiful and should be embraced. Are you ready to embrace the beauty you were born with? Come and join me (:

[ad#horizontal-banner]

Submit your HairStory- (extraordinary women sharing their hair journey) by answering these interview questions here–> www.bit.ly/hairstory and attach 3-4 great hair pictures; send to info@naturalhairrules.com with a subject line of HairStory.

Leave a Reply

