HairStory-Sunflower

[ad#horizontal-banner]
1. How long have you been natural?
I have been natural for just about five months, but I transitioned for, what it seems like, a looooong time..lol

2. Why and how did you go natural? (Did you transition? What products and styles did you use?)
I transitioned because I was simply tired of relaxers..goin to the salon.. tired of the damage the chemicals were doing to my hair.. and I was also very curious and anxious to see the REAL me..I started my transitioning with  mostly cornrows.. i would keep my braids in for a month .. then I would keep spirals in my head for two weeks ( to blend the two textures and to give my hair a break from the braids).. then go right back to cornrows .. I did this same pattern for 10 months straight.. then for the final 2 1/2 months I had puffy screws ( my final attempt to add to my new grow before the bc)….my staple products were the Jane carter solution collection ( which did pretty well with keeping the moisture in my hair..but only while I transitioned..)

3. Did you transition long term or do the big chop? Why?
I transitioned for a very.. very.. oh n did I say very long time.. 1 1/2 months.. and I must say it felt like 1 1/2 + 2 years added on..but I did the long transitioning because it was simply a challenge for me.. I wanted to see how long I could go…also.I ve had short hair before but I never had short short hair before ( if ya kno what I mean..lol..)… Iwasnt too sure of how I would look with that length of hair.. so iguess u can say I was a little insecure ( i hate saying that!.. but its true).. I also wanted to ease my new look on my friends and family.. I didn’t want it to be too much of a drastic change…

4. Tell us about your hair regimen. What products and techniques do you use? How do you keep your hair moisturized?
My regimen is pretty simple.. i think.. I shampoo once every two weeks using the shea moisture line ( I absolutely love this line! ).. I co wash once a week using the shea moisture conditioner.. everytime I shampoo I deep condition with my homemade mix ( avocado,virgin olive oil, raw shea butter, coconut milk, coconut oil, and a few drops of tea tree oil, jojoba oil, and peppermint oil..this mix does wonders!)..usually after I wash I would two strand twist my hair for the week and take down the twist on Friday for the weekend or If I’m feeling lazy I would two strand or three strand ( which tends to stretch my hair) twist my hair in huge chunks and take them out and let my hair do what ever it pleases for the week..and jus add my she’s moisture milk and leave in cond everyday…simple right!!!. Lol Problaby not but hey.. it works for me…Oooh and I also do a hot oil treatment once a month

4. How would you describe this experience?
I have absolutely loved every moment of being natural and can’t wait to experience many more moments ( hopefully for the rest of my life).. I’ ve learned patience.. esp. While transitioning..and I have gained a new found confidence in the REAL me.. one that I have never experienced before..I have yet to have that moment where I’m jus sick or feed up with being natural.. and I pray to god that I never will..

[ad#horizontal-banner]5. What was others response to your naturality?
I received mixed responses..the ones that I thought counted at one time doesn’t even matter to me any more ..majority of my family would just ask me why? And simply shake their heads.. i’ve had a family member tell me that me being natural wouldn’t last long when I first begin to transition .. but I expected that kind of response from that person ( hater as usual).  My own father absolutely hates my hair, he says he prefer to see black women in straight hair.. which kind of hurt me in the beginning but now I just learned to not blame him for his  opinions but to blame  it on this brainwashing society… But besides those few negative opinions I’ ve been getting many many positive ones! especially from strangers and people of different cultures..( they love to put there hands in my head..lol)

6. Who was your biggest influence/support? How did they provide support during your natural hair transition?
One person inspired me the most to go natural.. and that was my old friend’ s sister.. her name was Andrea  ( yes its a shot out!.. hey drea if you ever read this)..she doesn’t even kno but I have always admired her beautiful kinky hair.. it awed me as I watched it grow from as small as my pinky to a big thick healthy full Afro..I even think it enhanced her beauty even more… I knew that one day I would give kinky hair a try too. now I’m hooked!..my main support system have been my mom, sister, and my two good friends who are all natural sistas and we all have begin our journey together around the same time and trade advice amongst each other..big help!.. love them dearly for that!

7. What have you learned since being natural (about yourself, your hair and other people)?
I’ ve learned patience, I’ ve learned that acceptance of self is the key to being truly happy, I’ ve learned to work with and beautify what I have and not to have envy over some thing that I don’t have, I’ ve learned a lot about hair than I have ever ever learned before, and I’ve learned to ignore..lol.. yes ignore foolish and negative comments..
8. What advice would you give to those transitioning or concerning natural?
Keep going transitioners..you will reap a great reward at the end.. but patience will be needed on the first stages of the journey…

Leave a Reply

