A Natural Hair Sorority?!

[ad#horizontal-banner]

Pi Nappa Kappa Natural Hair Sorority: A Necessity or a Mockery?

Courtesy of Coco & Creme

Recently, a Natural Hair Sorority called Pi Nappa Kappa emerged with a mission to “To educate, inspire and uplift natural hair women, men, boys and girls throughout the entire world. To make the word “nappy” into a “happy” and celebrated term.”

Founded in 2010, the sororities’ Facebook page is where the group’s interactions primarily take place. Women are given their line numbers by order in which they became a fan of their Facebook page as well as an online Pledge of Honor.

I’m sure the sorority means no disrespect to official Greek life and initiation but doing everything via Facebook takes away from the experience of pledging in my opinion.

I respect the fact that the sorority is trying to bring natural-haired women together but the way they are going about it is like a mockery.

Is it really the answer to bring Greek life to areas of culture and hair?

-Krystal Holmes

7 thoughts on “A Natural Hair Sorority?!

  1. Tamara

    I agree with you! I honestly feel like this is a scam. I think this sorority is a sneaky way for individuals to make money. 😦 Sad! Why the division? What’s next…..a relaxed hair sorority???

    Reply
  2. tianna

    I don’t think its that serious. I think its a cute different approach to naming a group. People take the sorority stuff to the next level for no reason.

    Reply
  3. Jaclyn

    I can understand how traditional sororities may take offense to the idea. Also, Tamara was right to question whether our sisters on the creamy crack will form their own union. In my personal opinion, if this sorority actually accomplishes their mission, what is the problem? I am all for anything that works to uplift the natural hair life, especially with our youth.

    Reply
  4. K.Head

    I think it is a wonderful idea! I also think this it is no different than pledging any other sorority that has a certain group it is geared towards
    I am a part of a Christian Sorority that is NATIONALLY KNOW. Do you think that is a mockery as well? I also communicate with the sorority via email, twitter & facebook. Is that wrong????

    Reply
  5. ShortStop

    I agree with K.Head. I don’t think its a mockery movies & tv shows have that covered. I think its pretty cool actually. But to make it more official they should assign ppl in different and/or all state to initiate the pledge. I’ll join!

    Reply
  6. Rose

    Risking another diatribe from the woman who is behind Pi Nappa Kappa, here are my comments:

    Phi Beta Kinky™ was an original slogan used when I created my twitter page and profile. The notion of a Naturalista Soror Sista of Phi Beta Kinky™ came about as a means of joining an alliance of sorts with women, who like me, wore their hair naturally, and men who supported natural hair.

    There were women who otherwise loved the notion of the sisterhood behind Phi Beta Kinky™. NOT the alluding to a sorority. Pi Kappa Nappa was directly taken without permission from my concept and has perverted an innocent idea.

    At the risk of being dubbed or snubbed a snake or troll or swine or black woman hater- again- by the voice behind this organization, I will end my comments here.

    I hate that my original and otherwise innocent idea has turned into this. Phi Beta Kinky™ is not a term of divisiveness.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

