Natural Hair and Pregnancy

[ad#horizontal-banner]

african american pregnant woman

Hey Naturalistas!!!

About 2 months ago I announced my pregnancy. And to my surprise the preggos are strong in numbers right now.  J/J

Wednesday, officially made 28 weeks…you know what that mean the finally stretch. Three more months to go.  Throughout my pregnancy I have read just about every pregnancy book and website out there.  Like everything else there are so many myths or misconception about pregnancy and hair.

Pre-natal pills make your hair grow thicker and faster.
This is so not true.  I’m not discouraging taken a daily vitamin, pre-natal or not.  I personally took pre-natal vitamins before getting pregnant because its recommended if you’re planning to have children. Read more here.  The increase hormones associated with pregnancy can in some cases result in your hair growing faster.

Pregnancy makes your hair grow thicker.
You may notice that your hair is thicker; this is true.  But your head is holding on to all of your hair including the dead hair that would normally shred as apart of the hair cycle.  I can attest I wore two-strand twist for 3 WEEKS.  I could almost count the strands of hair that shred in my Denman brush and hand.  It wasn’t much at all.

If you don’t believe me here are some online resources…

BabyCenter.com

What To Expect.com
[ad#horizontal-banner]

My Baby Bump and Natural Hair.

I have been rocking protective styles such as two strand twist, two strand twist out and in the picture below I’m sporting two french braids & a cute 27 week baby bump.  My hair seems to be drier than usually.  I’m not sure if that’s the pregnancy of the Houston summer heat. I think its a combination of both.  Shea Moisture Raw Shea Restorative Conditioner is my friend right now.  

[ad#horizontal-banner]




5 thoughts on “Natural Hair and Pregnancy

  1. Natalie

    Tamara. you look so cute with your bump. I am 26 weeks now My hair is driving me nuts. It is thicker than it was before.
    Love your webpage and blog.

    Reply
  2. mommyg05

    Congratulations and may God continue to bless you and your family! Im a mom of four little ones, so Ive been where you are right now 🙂 True, your hair doesnt shed much during pregnancy however, are you aware of postpartum alopecia, or better known as excessive shedding after delivery? I dont want to scare you so dont be alarmed. I just want to give you a heads up in case you experienced this a few month after the birth of your baby and wasnt sure about what was happening. From my research, this shedding is perfectly normal. In fact, it happened to me almost every time I gave birth. However, this last time, I was prepared with my hair growth oil so I didnt lose as much hair as I had in the past plus, my hair grew back faster this time around. Of course, I praised God for that! Lol! Im sure you have someone to get advice from but just so you know, Im here if you have any questions. Jesus loves you and I do too! Welcome to parenthood!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

