shampooing Natural Hair

Washing Natural Hair

I borrowed this from Natural By L.  How often do you wash (shampooing or cowashing) your hair?  Also, does that amount change from summer to winter? Comment below.

Since starting my Grow Out Challenge, I have increase the times I wet my hair.   I have found from my research that your hair and scalp thrive when giving water on a regular basis. Here are some facts about water and hair.

shampooing Natural Hair

  • Your body is primarily made of water water this includes your hair.
  • Water is the best moisturizer for hair and skin.
  • Your hair products should be water based to really moisturize.

Currently, I shampoo, rinse, steam and mist my hair and scalp regularly.  This is the beginning step of moisturizing you hair in layers.  We’ll talk about that more later. In doing this I use coconut oil or shea butter to seal the moisture into my hair and scalp.  Applying from root to ends.

  • Shampoo once a week with a sulfate-free shampoo
  • Rinse hair every two to three days.  In the winter time, dry hair under a hooded dryer for about 20 mins. Also cover hair with satin scarf in extremely cold climates.
  • Mist hair and scalp with water and vegetable glycerin mixture in spray bottle.  You can purchase vegetable glycerin here.

Read more natural hair do’s and don’ts hereHow to Wash Med/Long Natural Hair (Video)

5 thoughts on “Washing Natural Hair

  1. Silky Coils

    I am doing the challenge with you…I’m calling it a natural hair overhaul. Lol. I got away from daily misting of my coils….I didn’t think to rinse every two days though…may try that.

    Reply
  2. meeksj1

    I see where u say rinse every 2 to 3 days how would u apply this method if u wear ur hair in twists? Sometimes I would like to co-wash with my 2-strand twists.. but one experience my hair was very frizzy & was so tangled when I went to take them out.. Ur suggestions would be helpful.. Thanks

    Reply
    1. naturalhairrules

      I found this to be true if you allow the twist to air dry. When I have twist I co-wash or rinse every 2-3 days. While hair is wet I smooth a moisturizer and styling product such as aloe vera or flax seed gel and sit under a hooded dryer for 20-30 mins. This helps prevent frizz and your hair does tangle around itself. Or you can simply just mist your hair with a water bottle.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

